Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I followed this recipe as written and it was wonderful. The turkey made such a beautiful presentation, that my family suggested taking a photo. It was perfect. The onion gravy was delicious. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was my first thanksgiving, and my first attempt with cooking a turkey. I could not believe how perfect this recipe is, just the right amount of everything. It got rave reviews, even from my mom who was worried that the glaze wouldn't be very much of a traditional flavor. The turkey was an even golden brown, and the insides were as juicy as chicken. Highly recommended! (Note: the gravy came out a bit sweet. You can achieve a more savory gravy by not adding so much of the ground onions to it, and add some more salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was my first Thanksgiving and this recipe really impressed my family - it's been decided that I'll be doing it every year! This turkey not only looked beautiful, but was extremely moist and flavorful. I've never seen such a small amount of leftovers or heard such praise. I highly recommend this recipe - the turkey and gravy were both amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I have never made such a beautiful turkey. It was moist and the gravy got rave reviews. I made with the "awesome sausage apple and cranberry stuffing" WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
i've made this recipe 6 times(including my 1st turkey day. Make sure to whip out your meat thermometer for the 22 lbs bird! The glaze and the gravy are excellent, lthere will be none left! Try using homemade jam as an ingredient for the glaze. I use mexican canned nectar for the glaze as well, cheap and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe is really worth the time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I made this with mushroom stuffing for Christmas day - but with 2 chickens instead of turkey. I have never roasted whole chickens before - but this turned out beautifully! Not a scrap was left afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
the glaze on the turkey was beautiful. it was my first year preparing turkey, and it came out great! the family took several pictures of the bird because it was so pretty. my only problem was that the onions got a bit burned sitting in the roasting pan so long. next time i'll remove them once their soft and just pour the pan drippings into them. thanks very much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States