Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Have made this for several special occasion holiday dinners, always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, I have made it every year since it came out in Bon Appetit cookbook. I don't know what the penalities are for plagerism on this site, but this is certainly not Ma Lipo's or Christine's recipe. Check it out for your self on Epicurious.com, it is called, "Apricot Glazed Turkey with Roastsed Onion and Shallot Gravy. Anyway, I don't think that Ma Lipo should get all the rave reviews because it isn't her recipe. I thought we were suppose to submit original recipes on this site....just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Terrific Turkey Recipe. Most of the prepwork can be done in the preceding days. (slice the onions and shallots, make the butter, and make the glaze). I also brined the turkey which kept it exceptionally moist and I didn't need to do the steps with the tenting etc. The gravy I was skeptical of, I am a gravy flunkee - this was sooo easy and very flavorful. I preferred it to the traditional gravy we also served that day. My husband said this was the best turkey he's ever tasted. We had it for thanksgiving and are having it for Christmas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
We all loved this! It had great flavor and was fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is the best. I have made it several years in a row. I also made it for a lerge crowd (50 or more people) and they loved it. The recipe seems a little step intensive but if you read it through and plan it out it won't be hard. The gravy that it yiled is awesome. I think I add a little salt and may thicken it a little more in the end. Give this one a try you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I'm a 21-year old college student and this was my first year making Christmas dinner for my family. My family usually doesn't like turkey (especially my mother) and they absolutely loved this recipe (which was particularly gratifying since they had bets going that I would burn down the kitchen). The turkey was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I only made the gravy. Those who tried it loved it, but most stayed away from it because it looked like apple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMEN464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very good. I used a fresh free range Turkey and everyone enjoyed the moist bird, especially the sweet crispy skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
We love this recipe, especially the gravy which is sooo flavorful. We make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Wonderful, my turkey was fabulous. It was moist, tender and tasty. The only change I would make is too start basting it later as the with the glaze it darkened way too much. The gravy was awesome. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States