Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This year was my first year I have prepared a Thanksgiving feast! I was terrified of this task and this recipe was so simple and it was absolutly devine! Thank you so much! I received a 5 star review from my husband and 4 children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
The only thing I did different with this recipe is put the turkey in "turkey bag" because our oven is old and doesn't cook on time specified in the recipe. I was afraid the turkey won't cook on time. So the turkey was done in 3 hours and I didn't baste it. It was not crispy. I took it out from the bag and placed it on the rack and glazed it. I put it back in the oven, added the onion mixture and follow the rest of the recipe from then on. I baste it and glazed it. It turned out very good even if I cooked it overtime and still not crispy but moist. Everyone loves the onion-shallot gravy. I will follow the recipe next year when we replace our old oven. Thank you for your delicious recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This turkey dinner was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
This recipe comes directly from Bon Appetit Magazine, dated 11/94. You can find it on the Epicurious.com web site. It is called "Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy". It is a lot of work, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is an excellent recipe - especially the onion/shallot gravy. I do not like gravy, usually, but this gravy just makes my mouth water thinking about it!!! I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving, and everyone really liked it. I will definitely use it for this coming Thanksgiving. I just can't get my fill of that gravy!!! :o) UPDATE: I've used this recipe for several years now, and every single time I make it, people REALLY like it! My mom's expecting this again this Thanksgiving! It's become our family tradition for Thanksgiving turkey! :oD ;>~ This and Leeza's Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire are two of the best recipes on allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
First turkey I ever made in my entire life & it's for a party of 12. I was so worried! MILLION THANKS to Christine for such an excellent recipe...everybody loved it!!! The skin crispy, the meat moist and the taste was mouth-watering! I will definitely do it again next year...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This was a delicious turkey, but the 'traditionalists' didn't love the onion gravy. However, I will make the glazed turkey recipe a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This was a wonderful recipe with great results. I made one change, which I don't think changed the integrity of the recipe, but probably changed the taste slightly. I thought that apricot would be too sweet a flavor for my family, so I substituted equal amounts of orange marmalade and orange juice for the apricot jam and nectar. Kept everything else the same with excellent results. The essence of the carmalized onions gave the gravy a wonder rich color, texture, and flavor. I used the tips for making the glaze, herb butter and onions in advance, so the actual preparation time on turkey day was minimal. I will definitely make this recipe again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. This was my first year hosting Thanksgiving dinner at my house. I made this turkey, gravy, and stuffing (wild mushroom stuffing referenced here) for 8 people. Everyone gave it rave reviews. It was beautiful with the glaze! Very easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This was excellent and very easy. The gravy was also fabulous and quick. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States