Ma Bethie's Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was good. Next time I will cook the onions a bit first since they were too crunchy for my taste. Also, there is no need for all of the steps in layering the mixing. I coated the zucchini and then just added all the rest together. Next time also, I will add more zucchini and maybe one less egg...a little too eggy. and don't be afraid to add some more garlic and cayenne...makes it super tasty. With a few changes, this is a very delicious and special way to do zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This dish was awesome. I made it for the first time for our Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I've made this so many times as a side dish or a finger food cold (cut into squares). It is always a hit. Recipe should read '3 cups of grated zucchini'. A half cup of veggie oil is better then all that butter, too. And 1 tsp of oregano would improve the flavor more. After adding everything I use my mixer to mix things up and spoon into a butter 9x13 glass pan for 30 mins at 350 deg. It's a never fail for me...this was my Mom's recipe from her Mother :o) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvThoseLabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was tasty, but an bit on the greasy side. I'd recommend cutting back on the butter. Otherwise, this is a nice side dish as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
We absolutely LOVED this! I tweaked the recipe a little. I substituted water for some of the butter and I used more cheese and maybe a little more zucchini than it called for. It turned out like a delicious rich-yet-not-too-dense quiche. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Our family loved this one. Evidently, my zucchini was smaller that those intended by the author, though, becuase I used an 11x7 baking dish, and it came out just right. I also doubled the amount of both cheeses. I found out mid-prep that I'd used up all my fresh parsley, so I threw in a little fresh cilantro, dried parsley and lemon zest. I'll definitely do it again, but use the fresh parsley. I also chose to reduce the amount of butter to 2T, and simply stirred in the softened butter, rather than fussing with melting it. With the additional cheese, I found that it needed to go about 40-45 minutes in the oven. We all agreed that the brown edges were the best part, and the middle wasn't soggy at all. What a great way to use end-of-season zucchini bounty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I just did not like this recipe at all. I was disappointed because I love zucchini and was looking forward to trying this. I served it with fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy and hardly anyone ate this zucchini recipe. I think it was the biscuit mix in it that I just didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
If I could, I would do 3 1/2 stars for this recipe. It was okay for our dinner (I added chicken per the submitter's suggestion), but I don't think I will make it again. I felt the texture was a little too eggy and there was too much oregano for me. When I made this, I shredded my zucchini and used cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have brought this to several family gatherings. Everyone peers at it cautiously and waits for someone else to dig into it. By the end of the day, there are no leftovers to take home! It is fail-proof, in my opinion. Decadent, but still a good way to sneak in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Elizabeth Monts

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This recipe was good, but in my opinion, not amazing. My 2-year-old son liked it, which was a plus. I would decrease the butter next time, it was too buttery. Also, I used a homemade biscuit mix, so maybe my results would have been better with regular old Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States