Ma Bethie's Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
So delicious, but very rich. I use half butter and half olive oil. I think you could reduce the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Tried this dish because the other reviws were good and really enjoyed it. As others suggested I cut the butter in half and used one less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Our family loved this one. Evidently, my zucchini was smaller that those intended by the author, though, becuase I used an 11x7 baking dish, and it came out just right. I also doubled the amount of both cheeses. I found out mid-prep that I'd used up all my fresh parsley, so I threw in a little fresh cilantro, dried parsley and lemon zest. I'll definitely do it again, but use the fresh parsley. I also chose to reduce the amount of butter to 2T, and simply stirred in the softened butter, rather than fussing with melting it. With the additional cheese, I found that it needed to go about 40-45 minutes in the oven. We all agreed that the brown edges were the best part, and the middle wasn't soggy at all. What a great way to use end-of-season zucchini bounty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very easy to make and oh so good to eat.Mine also came out more like a custard though.I too think it's because it didn't state the size for the zucchini's.I just used 1 large one and that might've been the problem.I also had to cook it more than it said.But overall,it was a hit,I'll definitely be making it again.Next time I think I might add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
The taste on this recipe was really good. However, the consistancy on mine was more like a custard and not at all firm. The recipe does not say what size the zucchini should be. Perhaps the ones from my garden were too large and added too much moisture. I will give it another try though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
i tried this recipe when i gave some to my husband, minovy. he did not at all enjoy it and made me cook a whole new dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was good. Next time I will cook the onions a bit first since they were too crunchy for my taste. Also, there is no need for all of the steps in layering the mixing. I coated the zucchini and then just added all the rest together. Next time also, I will add more zucchini and maybe one less egg...a little too eggy. and don't be afraid to add some more garlic and cayenne...makes it super tasty. With a few changes, this is a very delicious and special way to do zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This recipe was good, but in my opinion, not amazing. My 2-year-old son liked it, which was a plus. I would decrease the butter next time, it was too buttery. Also, I used a homemade biscuit mix, so maybe my results would have been better with regular old Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Husband loved it--I thought it was good, but like another review, thought about brunch (not hamburgers). Will make again when I have TONS of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Served this last nite at a meeting and it was a hit. I used both mozzarella and cheddar cheese, I didn't measure just sprinkled in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States