MVP Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe! I used it as is to a point, I didn't use any of the beans ( personal taste ) and the beer I used was bud light. To the people who don't like to use beer, it was only a high note you could taste. The dish was so amazing! So I would advise this recipe for someone who wants a good meal !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I cooked this Chili tonight with a few changes. I added sugar, cinnamon, yellow curry, and ginger. Omitted black pepper and used sea salt. It was very delish. I also used turkey ground meat and one link of beef sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I can only give this a 4 because while this is my basic go to chili recipe I do thinks a tiny bit different. I use 1 pkg hot and one pkg mild sausage, I saute 1 finely chopped carrot and 1 finely chopped stalk celery (figure I have to sneak in all the veggies I can), I used diced tomatoes, 1 can plain and 1 can with chilies, and always add a lot of fresh ground pepper. I bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer and let it go for up to 2 hours. If i have time, make a day ahead, because always better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Chili Snob here > fail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was very tasty. I did change it a little. I needed a large batch of chili so I used 2lbs Johnsonville Ground Mild Italian sausage and 1lb of ground beef. Went a little heavier on the spices. I also was out of black beans so I just used kidney beans. And I left out the corn. Personal preference. Very good chili. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made some significant modifications to this to suit our taste and my review is based on those changes. I added 1 pound of ground beef in addition to the hot Italian sausage for a meatier chili. The directions don't mention this but you'll want to be sure to drain off as much grease possible after you brown the meat. I upped the amount of cumin to 1 teaspoon. I also omitted the tomato paste and instead added a 14 ounce can of tomato sauce. I was concerned the consistency would be very thin and liquidy with the addition of an entire bottle of beer and the tomato sauce adds some body. Most importantly, after everything is added, I brought the temp up to bring it to a boil then lowered the temp, covered the pot, and let it simmer for an hour to allow the flavors to blend, cook off a bit of the alcohol, and help the sauce thicken. It was VERY good with these changes and I'd definitely make it again. The Italian sausage adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Had to change a little bit- added the packet of chili seasoning, went ahead and threw the whole can of tomato paste in, and other than that, added cayenne pepper to spruce it up a bit more. It's a decent quick chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
What a great recipe-I used light beer since it's all I had on hand, and it was really good. No black beans for us, so omitted them, but the sausage really added a new and different taste to the usual chili we have. I also loved the addition of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Darrell A. Coleman
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great Recipe !!! Made some modifications to "kick it up a notch". I added 6 oz. of tomato paste instead of 2 tablespoons, Added 3/4 cup of Worcestershire Sauce. In addition to the 2 tablespoons of chili power I added 1 envelop of Chili Seasoning. "Man -O - Man Was It Good". My family and Iloved it. I will be making MVP Chili from now on throughoutthe winter and as we watch our favorite sports teams !!!!!!! Darrell A. Coleman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell A. Coleman

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made a tomato based pasta sauce with italian sausage and only half of the family cared for it, so I decided to use the leftover sauce to make chili. I'm happy to have found this recipe, I just added the missing ingredients. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and since I used mild johnsonville sausage I adjusted the seasonings so added a bit more chili and cumin as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States