MMMmmm Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe came out great, and I am not a baker at all! The only thing I did differently was add more cocoa powder to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very moist and delicious, i made it and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a wonderfully tasting, moist and delicious chocolate cake. My entire family raved about this cake. I did a couple of things different- used all butter (no shortening) and used all purpose flour instead of self-rising flour. Next time I will only use half of the frosting... I love frosting, but this cake didn't need that much. I might even try a sprinkle of powdered sugar on top instead of frosting all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlierose
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this cake for my brother's anniversary cookout yesterday...I had no trouble with the cake staying together at all! I baked it for 28 minutes not the 30-40 listed in recipe and I only used half of the icing..It was yummy and the recipe is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliemo3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is such an easy cake to make. Unfortunately I live at high altitude, so the first time I tried this the cupcakes sort of exploded and fell at the same time. I made these alterations and the second batch are perfect! Add 2 tbsp Water Add 1 more Egg Use All Purpose Flour instead of Self-Rising Decrease Sugar by 2 tbsp Take a pinch out of the tsp Baking Soda Makes 24 cupcakes and bakes in 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I grew up on this cake but my mom called it "Ann's Chocolate cake" and she and I just do everything in the sauce pan. Why mess up a bowl? Sometimes I use leftover coffee instead of water and it's very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time and it turned out perfect.My while family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I made it for my mom's birthday, and after I had gotten the ingredients, she told me she wanted a yellow cake instead, so I didn't add the cocoa to the cake, but I added 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp butter flavor (love that stuff!). I liberally sprayed Baker's Joy non-stick spray to my two 9 inch rounds, and let them cool for about 10 minutes before removing them from the pans. They turned out great! No sticking, no falling apart. I ended up using buttermilk in the icing as well as the cake, and used 3 tsp before it was the right consistency, but it smoothed onto the warm cakes like butter. I decorated with pecans instead of adding them to the icing. Will definitely make this cake again. Looking forward to trying the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Our FAVORITE cake! I make it for birthdays, special occasions or just because. Definately the 'go-to' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great recipe. It's light, fluffy, not too sweet. I made some adjustments, replaced the shortening with butter and made half the amount of icing from the advice of other reviewers. I will make all the icing next time. I like icing. I took mine out after 30 minutes so it didn't dry out and it's perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States