MMMmmm Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
I baked this in cupcake form and they came up round and crisp at the top, moist and fluffy in the middle. They're just as good, if not better the next day. My guests couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Okay, the frosting made the very top of the cake taste good, but the rest of the cake was dry, crumbly, and could not possibly be served to a guest. I keep re-reading the recipe, to see if I did something wrong, considering the previous review, but I followed it to a tee, and generally have excellent success with cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe came out great, and I am not a baker at all! The only thing I did differently was add more cocoa powder to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very moist and delicious, i made it and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a wonderfully tasting, moist and delicious chocolate cake. My entire family raved about this cake. I did a couple of things different- used all butter (no shortening) and used all purpose flour instead of self-rising flour. Next time I will only use half of the frosting... I love frosting, but this cake didn't need that much. I might even try a sprinkle of powdered sugar on top instead of frosting all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlierose
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Made this tonight in a 9X13 pan and followed recipe exactly. It is just right...moist and light crumb. Had to use AP flour w/baking powder + salt as I don't keep SR flour. This cake would be fine with only a powdered sugar dusting as topping but I went ahead and used the Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting from this site. I've eaten two large squares of cake already which I really have no business doing. But it is soooo good!!! This will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing, Denise. Photo doesn't do it justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I'm really rather torn on how to review this recipe. I'm sitting here with a mess of a cake, but the mess tastes delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of splitting the batter between two 9 inch cake pans. When I went to flip the cakes out of their pans, everything went south! The cakes completely fell apart, and I'm left with a terrible mess. I made this cake as a test run for my friend's baby shower, and boy am I glad I didn't wait until the last minute! Since the cake still tastes fine, I plan on letting my family eat it instead of just throwing it out. I would probably make the cake again, but only in a 9x13 or as cupcakes. The taste is good, but it turned out a little disastrous, which never happens to me when I bake. I also agree with those who said the cake could be served just fine with a dusting of powdered sugar instead of a thick frosting. It's sweet as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this cake for my brother's anniversary cookout yesterday...I had no trouble with the cake staying together at all! I baked it for 28 minutes not the 30-40 listed in recipe and I only used half of the icing..It was yummy and the recipe is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliemo3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is such an easy cake to make. Unfortunately I live at high altitude, so the first time I tried this the cupcakes sort of exploded and fell at the same time. I made these alterations and the second batch are perfect! Add 2 tbsp Water Add 1 more Egg Use All Purpose Flour instead of Self-Rising Decrease Sugar by 2 tbsp Take a pinch out of the tsp Baking Soda Makes 24 cupcakes and bakes in 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I grew up on this cake but my mom called it "Ann's Chocolate cake" and she and I just do everything in the sauce pan. Why mess up a bowl? Sometimes I use leftover coffee instead of water and it's very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States