MMMmmm Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I'm not normally a chocolate cake person, but my boyfriend is so I have baked this cake for his birthday the past two years (with my own chocolate buttercream frosting recipe), and both of us just love it! So moist and delicious, and not overpoweringly chocolate-y. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Etna, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe, and the cakes fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great recipe. It's light, fluffy, not too sweet. I made some adjustments, replaced the shortening with butter and made half the amount of icing from the advice of other reviewers. I will make all the icing next time. I like icing. I took mine out after 30 minutes so it didn't dry out and it's perfect. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Our FAVORITE cake! I make it for birthdays, special occasions or just because. Definately the 'go-to' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I made it for my mom's birthday, and after I had gotten the ingredients, she told me she wanted a yellow cake instead, so I didn't add the cocoa to the cake, but I added 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp butter flavor (love that stuff!). I liberally sprayed Baker's Joy non-stick spray to my two 9 inch rounds, and let them cool for about 10 minutes before removing them from the pans. They turned out great! No sticking, no falling apart. I ended up using buttermilk in the icing as well as the cake, and used 3 tsp before it was the right consistency, but it smoothed onto the warm cakes like butter. I decorated with pecans instead of adding them to the icing. Will definitely make this cake again. Looking forward to trying the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time and it turned out perfect.My while family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I grew up on this cake but my mom called it "Ann's Chocolate cake" and she and I just do everything in the sauce pan. Why mess up a bowl? Sometimes I use leftover coffee instead of water and it's very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is such an easy cake to make. Unfortunately I live at high altitude, so the first time I tried this the cupcakes sort of exploded and fell at the same time. I made these alterations and the second batch are perfect! Add 2 tbsp Water Add 1 more Egg Use All Purpose Flour instead of Self-Rising Decrease Sugar by 2 tbsp Take a pinch out of the tsp Baking Soda Makes 24 cupcakes and bakes in 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this cake for my brother's anniversary cookout yesterday...I had no trouble with the cake staying together at all! I baked it for 28 minutes not the 30-40 listed in recipe and I only used half of the icing..It was yummy and the recipe is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliemo3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I'm really rather torn on how to review this recipe. I'm sitting here with a mess of a cake, but the mess tastes delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of splitting the batter between two 9 inch cake pans. When I went to flip the cakes out of their pans, everything went south! The cakes completely fell apart, and I'm left with a terrible mess. I made this cake as a test run for my friend's baby shower, and boy am I glad I didn't wait until the last minute! Since the cake still tastes fine, I plan on letting my family eat it instead of just throwing it out. I would probably make the cake again, but only in a 9x13 or as cupcakes. The taste is good, but it turned out a little disastrous, which never happens to me when I bake. I also agree with those who said the cake could be served just fine with a dusting of powdered sugar instead of a thick frosting. It's sweet as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States