MMMMM... Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I will NEVER use brownie mix again since this recipe is super easy and even more tasty! Semisweet chips definitely give a depth of flavor you just can't get from cocoa powder. Be sure to use quality chocolate chips to ensure the best chocolate flavor. Also, you might want to temper the eggs before adding them to the warm chocolate mixture or allow the chocolate mixture to cool a bit so you don't end up with scrambled eggs in the batter. I used a 16 ounce bag of chocolate chips, melting the 1 1/2 cups as the recipe calls for and adding the extra 1/2 cup to the cooled batter so I could have chocolate chunks in the brownies. (If you do add the extra chocolate chips, toss them in a teaspoon of flour to coat them so they won't sink to the bottom of the pan.) Thanks for sharing this recipe. I'll be making these brownies again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I'm very impressed. In fact, I have to go change my review of another brownie recipe because this one is absolutely the best (and I can't say that about the other recipe anymore). Tastes just like the brownies out of a box. I followed the recipe exactly, baked for 25 minutes, and they are perfect. I have to hurry and freeze them so I don't eat them all in one sitting. Next time, I will omit the salt, but that is the only modification I will make. Except doubling or tripling this recipe! Worth the hype. This will now be my brownie recipe of choice. Excellent! *update: these are just as delicious after being frozen! I defrosted at room temperature in a sandwich bag. Still delicious! *update 2: I have also made these as mini cupcakes. In the oven for 7 minutes makes them just cooked enough. Yum, yum, yum! Huge hit at a recent party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
MMMMM...Delicious!!! These brownies are rich, chocolatey, and absolutely fabulous! I mean to try to describe these brownies using just one word may be virtually impossible, just as impossible as it is to eat just one of these. If you LOVE chocolate, then this is the brownie for you! Definitely have a tall glasss of ice cold milk on hand, 'cause you're gonna need it! I substituted 2 Tbsp. of coffee liqueur for the water and since a bag of Hershey's chocolate chips is 2 cups I took the other 1/2 cup and tossed those into the batter before baking - I mean you can never have too much chocolate. I baked them for 30 minutes in an 8x8 glass pan sprayed with Pam for baking. I highly recommend rinsing/wiping down your knife between each slice when cutting your brownies so you get nice slices. I topped them off with a dusting of confectioners' sugar and next time I might add in some chopped walnuts. These are a must try for all the brownie lover's out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used a glass 9" x 13" pan and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DivineHealth7
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
WOW!!! Are you kidding me? These are definitely the best brownies I've ever had. I was really craving brownies, but was out of cocoa powder, so I wanted a recipe that didn't require it. These brownies definitely hit the spot...I ate so much, I went to work out afterwards! The use of chocolate chips in this recipe make the chocolate taste more "chocolatey" if you will. It is very rich and better than any store bought I know of...I feel less guilty about eating these than the boxed mixes that have additives, preservatives, and hydrogenated oils. These brownies are killer. One thing though...I baked mine for more than the recommended time. I was concerned about doing this because the recipe stresses not to overbake the brownies, but I guess it varies by oven. I used the toothpick test and it did not come out clean, so I baked for about another 12 to 15 minutes. The edges were just crispy and the middle was just done, almost fudgy..... Also, I didn't have an 8x8 pan, but I wanted brownies so bad that I used a round dish (not even a pan, a dish!). But it didn't matter. YYYUUUUMMM!!! Try these...you won't be disappointed. Thanks for sharing this one. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
WOW. These are great - fudgey, chocolately - everything I want in a brownie. This will be my new brownie recipe and it's so easy too! By the way 1 1/2 c of chocolate chips is equal to a 9 oz bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've never made brownies with melted chocolate chips before so I was very curious, however, with so many reviewers pleased with this recipe I felt confident I wouldn't be disappointed - and I wasn't. I used Ghiradelli chocolate chips and reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp. As the submitter warns, don't overbake and you'll be rewarded with rich, fudgy brownies. Great as is, but I topped mine with Brownie Frosting, recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
All I can say is "WOW". I doubled the recipe and baked in a 10x12 pan for 28 minutes. I used unsalted butter and just used a pinch of salt (don't like to taste any salt!). Also - I love chocolate and rasberry together - so I added a tiny bit of rasberry extract - and wow - added just the taste I was looking for! Thanks a bunch!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Really moist and fudgy, with a crisp top layer, these were easy to make and fabulous the next day. I think I will abandon my old tried and true one I've been making for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These brownies could have been made from a mix. They had the flakey top layer that you get from a mix, the great chewy crust pieces, and an awesome deep dark fudgey chocolate flavor. I don't need to buy brownies from a box anymore. *edit* I wanted to try a PB/Chocolate brownie so I used half PB chips and half chocolate chips in this recipe. The verdict? If you want peanut butter chocolate brownies, marble some PB into the tops of this recipe using the full amount of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States