Lyndsie's Dr. Pepper® Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
My family loved this recipe and fought over the leftovers. I altered the recipe to use hamburger (which is what I had on hand) and used a whole 28 oz can of tomatoes. I served it over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made these for my Dr. Pepper drinking son's birthday dinner and he loved them. My husband liked them, but I didn't at all. I thought they were too salty and too sweet. Our individual ratings were: 5 - 4 - 1 = 3.33.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My family loved it! I used hamburger, couldn't find any turkey, it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My family and I absolutely loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey and Italian breadcrumbs. I didn't have any green pepper or onion or ranch, so they didn't get tossed in! But I did have garlic and I minced it and tossed it in some Extra Virgin Olive Oil in the bottom of my Crock-Pot while I was preparing the other ingredients. After making the meat balls I put brown sugar and ketchup in the pot and mixed it well then added one can of Dr. Pepper and my meatballs, they weren't covered so I added another can! A dash or two of Worcestershire sauce and about 5 hours later...YUM!!!! Thanks for this awesome recipe!! It is a favorite of my family (and my neighbors!) now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used fresh bread crumbs in the meatballs and homemade ranch dressing mix. I did not add the extra salt in the sauce. I'm sure this could be a good recipe with some doctoring--as is, we didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I really liked these a lot. I expected the sauce to taste more like a bbq sauce but it was closer to a porcupine ball sauce. I served them over onion rice and corn with a kick, both from this site. If I were to make them again I would double the sauce and add cornstarch to make it more like a gravy. The meatballs are a little soft so serving them over rice gives the meal more of a contrast in texture rather than over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
They were a good healthy alternative to regular meatballs but it was missing something and the meatballs turned out a little dry inside because of the low fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is good; very reminescent of Coca-Cola Chicken which is a favorite in this house. Followed the recipe exactly and thought the Ranch Dressing would change the flavor, but I did not detect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The meatballs in this recipe were good, but the sauce was not. We did not like the flavor. The combination of the Dr. Pepper and tomato created a cinnamon taste that was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were delicious! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the green pepper, my family doesn't like them. This was delicious over mashed potatoes. This is going down as a family favoriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States