Lyndsie's Dr. Pepper® Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were okay. I thought the sauce was a good consistency, not too soupy; however, I thought the sauce would be sweeter. The kids did not like them much. I think the reason was the green pepper--it was too strong in the meatballs and in the sauce. I will probably try them again using 1/2 red bell pepper in the sauce and no bell pepper in the meatballs. I would also cut the black pepper to 1/4 tsp, and the recipe calls for too many bread crumbs; I think 1/2 cup would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I just made this recipe last night for the first time. I must say it is scrumptious. The sauce is very tasty. The only thing I did differently was use half red pepper/half green pepper rather than all green pepper. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I will for sure be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Pretty good, but this was a very thin recipe. We had it over brown rice, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Big Business

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonaconing, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great recipe. Very tasty. Had to use 2lbs of ground turkey (since it only sold in 1lb packages). Increased other ingredients to match except for the soda. Came out perfect. Served over rice. Very tasty. Made about 30 golf-ball sized meatballs, they'll be leftover this week. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These were actually pretty good! I didn't use the whole can of Dr. Pepper, I think it would have been too much liquid if I had. I also left out of tomatoes. I didn't think the sauce tasted like Dr. Pepper, just a sweeter BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a delicious recipe, the flavors melded together phenomenally! The only thing I did different was lessen the amount of Dr. Pepper, to reduce the soupy-ness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Yum Yum Yum!!! This recipe was great, loved the flavor it gave. The only thing I did diffrent was brown mine in a pan and place in a crock pot, all the ingredients stayed the same, and this was delicious. Will def do again, thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Surprisingly my kids found this too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very good! Best when 93/7 ground turkey is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States