LuvAnn's Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
good recipe but needs some tweeking. I would definitely add a couple cloves of fresh minced garlic and cut salt down to 1/4 teaspoon. Be sure to use plum(roma) tomatoes because they have less juice. Also, if you plan on making this ahead of time (no more that 24 hours), I find it's best to add the tomatoes right before serving. I find the juice causes the guacamole to brown faster...even with the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlpicanso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
five stars!!!!!! absolutely authentic and to die for, my thirteen year old won't eat avocado or guacamole, but her whole hand is in the bowl as we speak. good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I also wish that I had read the reviews prior to making this recipe. It was way too salty and needed an extra avocado due to the amount of the other ingredients. Otherwise, it was one of the best gaucamole recipes I have found. And do make sure you remove the seeds from the jalapeno peppers unless that is the way you like it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
the salt ruined this recipe couldnt even eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Added garlic salt and used lemon juice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Almost perfect guacamole! Ok, so I used less salt & added a clove of minced garlic, but that's just b/c we love garlic! I think it would still be great guacamole as written. This list of ingredients (plus garlic) is what I think of when I think good old fashioned guacamole. The basics are here, so just adjust the amount of each ingredient until it suits your taste. Thanks for the starter recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
made this many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome! Halved the recipe to use in a small 7-layer dip. Only complaint was DH whining, "Did you have to use ALL the guacamole in the dip?" Had to make another batch just for him once the rest of the avacados were ripe. Thanks LuvAnn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great Guacamole - just wish I had read the other reviews first and adjusted the salt down a bit. Other than that a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Just looking over the measurements of ingredients alerts you instantly that there is something majorly wrong with this recipe which would have nothing to do with individual taste preferences. I don't believe anyone could tolerate, let alone like, guacamole prepared with this much salt! So strike one, right off the bat. Second, for my taste buds anyway, one whole onion, two jalapenos and one large tomato to two avocados is just simply off too! Could this possibly have been for maybe SIX avocados? The lime juice, as well, is probably twice the amount it should be for this many avocados. I did make guacamole with these ingredients, but I salted *to taste* and added the other ingredients more in proportion to the two avocados. I also added a small clove of minced garlic. With significant changes in measurements this could be a great, basic guacamole. If prepared as written, however, I don't know how anyone could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States