Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This dip is always gone when I make it! I do change a few things though. You MUST drain and rinse the artichoke hearts,it gets rid of that slightly odd flavor. I also use the whole block of cream cheese. Instead of romano cheese I use about a cup of mozzarella and about half a cup of grated parm. cheese on top. I love garlic so i usually add about a teaspoon of minced garlic. Throw the artichokes, cream cheese and spinach in the blender to make it less lumpy. I serve this with chips or with carrot and celery sticks. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I will be honest, I haven't made this *exact* recipe but I make one that's very close so I thought I'd share my suggestions. I use equal parts mayo (light is fine) and sour cream, no cream cheese. Also, a little fresh lemon juice and some extra garlic help give it some flavor. And finally...I think for any restaurant-quality spinach artichoke dip, monterrey jack cheese is a MUST! I use about 1 cup - half mixed into the dip and the other half baked on top (cover with foil while baking to prevent rubbery cheese). Oh, and I always serve with blue corn tortilla chips and a side of salsa and sour cream. All in all, this is a great and easy recipe to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I made this two nights ago and it was AWESOME!!! I did tweak it a bit: I used 1 cup sour cream, 1 whole package cream cheese, 1/2 cup Romano cheese and 1 full tsp. garlic. It was very creamy this way, just the way I like it. My bro and his GF gobbled it up. They said it was just like eating it at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffybomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Excellent party food! I doubled everything (to use up all the spinach) except for the artichoke hearts (only had 2- 6oz. jars)and cream cheese (I used the whole 8 oz. block), and used grated Parmesean (from a bag, not the can). I also threw in about 1/2 c. grated Monterrey Jack cheese. I had to bake it longer--around 40 min. I also used a stoneware baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Very disappointed. I can't believe this didn't turn out good with all the rave reviews it has. I followed the recipe to a tee and it still turned out horrible. It was very dry & hard - we were trying to use it for a dip for chips. The chips broke off in it. Maybe it is more meant for breads, but we were expecting a creamy dip for chips (like in nice restaurants). Instead we ended up with a hard spread-type dish. We will not be trying this again unless we come up with a way to make it creamy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is such an easy and delicious recipe, I'm so happy I've found it. There are so many things you can add to it depending on what you like too. Everytime I make it with a few extra ingredients and it's always delicious. You can also throw it on a pizza dough and bake it up for a great spinach artichoke pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This recipe was okay... I think the problem was that I expected it to taste like the appetizer from TJI Friday's and it didn't. It lacked something and was too creamy. I think it had too much sour cream and not enough romano or even monterey jack cheese. I followed the recipe exactly as stated and served it right out of the oven. I thought it tasted best hot and when it cooled down it actually didn't taste too good. I served this dip at a party and had a ton of leftovers, so it didn't go over too well with my guests... I'm going to keep on looking for that TJI Friday's look alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
A friend brought this to a party yesterday and we loved it!!! I'm looking forward to making this myself! The spinach flavor is not overpowering which I liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
YUUMMMMYYY!!!! I added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. It disappeared! Thanks for sharing Youri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I enjoyed this dip very much. Not a huge hit at my party, but overall well liked. I added extra cream cheese as some of the other reveiws suggested. I didn't care for it with the extra cream cheese. Good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States