Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
MMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Wow! So inexpensive to make and so very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except for using onion instead of leeks and shallots, boxed chicken stock instead of the cubes, and I added two carrots. I served cornbread with it. Even my picky six year old finished his bowl of soup. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I thought this soup was great! I didn't even saute' the vegetables -- just threw them in the crockpot after the beans had softened -- and it turned out wonderful. This is a tasty, low-calorie vegan soup that I will definitely make again. Note: I didn't have as many carrots as the recipe called for, but I did have a leftover rutabaga that I cut up and threw in. It was a terrific addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I'm a soupaholic, and this is one of my favorites. I followed the recipe other than subbing 1 cup of chopped onion for the leek and shallots. I added a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and a tbsp. of minced garlic. This soup is even better the next day. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent! I used chicken broth instead of veggie and added a couple of smoked pork neckbones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Wow, what a delicious soup and turned out just like the picture. The soup was creamy and tasty, the Lima beans soft like butter. I had never made Lima soup before and so glad and a favorite. Of course my husband loved it too. My favorite was always Pea soup but I think I've been converted. The Lima beans are so light and velvety and the carrots add a touch of sweetness. I cooked with ham hocks so extra delicious and never forget the Bay leaves, but next time I think I'll try the veggie only way. I made a mistake and pureed it a little too much, big mistake since those Lima beans are the stars of the show. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Great Recipe!!!! I added more leek and shallot for a little more flavor. 1st time I made it I over sauted the vegetables, 2nd time I sauted leek & shallots, threw in Limas and at the last minute threw in vegies. This allowed the Limas and the vegies to finish up better at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I added a can of crushed tomatoes, but other than that, it was perfect! I don't know why, but to me it smelled really funny when it was cooking. I refused to eat it until my fiance said it was AMAZING and I gave in. This one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made this on a 17 degree winter day and boy did it hit the spot! I did however add cut up ham steak and LOOK OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Musgrove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
WOW! Never thought I would love lima bean soup. I had some dry lima beans in the pantry and was looking for some way to utilize these. I followed the recipe except added a bay leaf, a dash of thyme and a bit more salt. Would definitely make this again. Healthy, cheap and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States