Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This soup recipe tastes as luscious as the name implies..... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I needed to make this soup in a hurry, so I used canned lima beans, Campbell's vegetable broth, and I added fresh onion and garlic, a can of stewed tomatoes (540ml), 3 small bay leaves a pinch of thyme. I have made this soup before, exactly as written. My 'quickie' version tasted a little better because the canned lima beans were a perfect texture, the addition of stewed tomatoes/garlic/bay leaves/thyme added some zing and I didn't have to stand over a hot stove as long! Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Granted I used onion instead of leeks and shallots, but the flavor of this soup was not to my liking. It may just be lima beans that taste funny to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This is a fine recipe except for the fact that it calls for a vegetable buillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is a wonderful, hearty soup that will stick to your ribs. I subbed veggie stock for the bouillon and water, added about 2 Tbs garlic and some S&P to taste, and I did it all in my slow cooker (after boiling/soaking/rinsing the beans) which meant no oil. I added some turkey bacon which was okay, but honestly I wish I hadn't..... even my husband the carnivore agreed which was a shock. It's fantastic as-is, and I forwarded the link to a vegan friend who is a beginner cook. Note: don't forget to rinse your leeks very thoroughly after they are chopped because they tend to trap dirt between the layers! I will make this recipe again and again.... SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Im not sure why so many people rated this so high. The soup was ok but it lacked depth and flavor. Next time I will add some herbs and maybe some spice. As it was both my husband and myself added seasoning at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was really good! I didn't have time to sautee the veggies and just cooked it for about 2 hours. My kids could not WAIT to eat it because the house smelled so good while it was cooking. It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good. I do normally follow a recipe to the T the first time, but had to adjust this one. I do not use bouillon so used four cups veggie stock instead. I also threw it into the crock pot. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States