Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
since hubby has recently been laid off I'm looking for cheap nutritious meals. Loved this! Only thing I did differently was use 4 cups of veg broth/4 cups of water instead of the bouillon. That said, at the end I decided to add a generous sprinkling of black pepper, Thyme and a light-handed sprinkle of salt. I'll see how it tastes for my lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Followed the suggestions... added a couple dashes of thyme, crushed bay leaves, onion powder, fresh and powdered garlic, and some fresh button mushrooms! Used water instead of veggie broth, and just added a little bit of salt. Threw it all in a crock pot for 12 hours on low. Delicious!!! Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is fall weather comfort food! This is a mellow, yet, flavorable dinner dish. A very easy meal to make: just put the bean in a pot to soak overnight or early in the morning, then put the soup together and just let the soup simmer until the beans are soft. I did add a ham hock since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good! I am going to try it i the crock put next time. Thanks for a great Vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Della

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
VERY good! i feasted on this recipe and its leftovers for a week! I Never tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this because I had bought a bag of dried lima beans at a grocery outlet store for 25 cents, and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like other reviewers, I wasn't expecting something great. I only wanted a recipe to use the beans. What a surprise! It was unexpectedly rich and creamy (I pureed 3 cups of the soup to thicken it up), and so flavorful. I followed there recipe exactly and only added a teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. We had this soup, a wedge salad and bread and it was a great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was the first soup I tried after deciding to go vegetarian. It is amazing! Thank you for such an easy and great-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It reminded me of Chicken Noodle Soup (I added chicken for my kids benefit) with Lima Beans instead of Noodles. It was a little bland and needed more flavor. Salt, Sour Cream, and Cheddar Cheese made this more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
wonderful recipe...we love it..Freezes well, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This soup turned out great! I had to cook the beans a bit longer than stated and I used some cornstarch to thicken the broth because I used regular vegetable broth instead of bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States