Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had a bag of dried limas just laying around for months. This soup seemed so simple, that I knew it would be good. I didn't have any leeks or shallots, so I used a red onion instead. I added a bay leaf and garlic, too. I soaked the beans overnight, then threw everything together in the slow cooker on high for 5 hours. When it was done, I wilted about 4 cups of fresh spinach into it. So easy and yummy! It made about 10 servings of about 1 1/4 cups each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This turned out just heavenly. I made a few adjustments namely: 2 leek bulbs instead of one, one large clove garlic, heaping teaspoon of Hungarian paprika, saute in coconut oil and added olive oil later (3 tblsp), 2 chicken bouillons and 2 tsp of Vegeta and a few drops of liquid smoke. I used 3 cups of Lima beans and used 8-9 cups water and voila a thick soup made for a king! This is going to be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I could give this more stars with some changes. Firstly, it took forever to soften the beans, and I did soak them. I used the large dried limas, it was all they had at the store. I later found dried baby limas at another store, and this could have been part of the reason it took forever to soften them. That being said, they are finally softening after leaving the pot of soup on the stove overnight in a keep warm setting. This morning, I'm going to cook a while longer, and then this is what I will do...I'm going to remove a cup or more of the soup to the blender and puree it, add it back into the soup for a thicker and smoother soup. I also added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes along with the juice from the can. I did not spend for the leek and shallots and used good old yellow cooking onion instead. And I also used a combination of chicken broth (Better Than Bouillon in the jar) and vegetable broth. I know this will end up tasting very good, and I think it definitely benefits from waiting till the next day to serve it. Good, but not five stars. I have a cooking blog under the same name as my username, which features a soup called Kale Soup, Go Green. Check it out for another vegetarian soup that also got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tasty, healthy, and economical! A nice vegetarian alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Don't skip this soup! It's a creamy, rich-tasting, healthy soup that is outstanding in colder months. Very hearty, and really lovely looking too with the white 'cream-like' base, a bits of carrots and celery for texture & color. My husband loves this soup and even lima bean haters ask for seconds. I use "Better than Boullion" Vegetable broth base instead of cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really yummy. I cooked the lima beans with 3 cloves of garlic. Didn't have leek or shallot, used 2 small onions, celery, 3 carrots and 1 parsnip saute'd with about 1/2 lb of smoked turkey sausage. Used vegetable flavor Better than Bouillon Brand for the broth. Sooooo good! Green salad and bread and that's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is wonderful soup!! I followed it closely, but had to substitute onion for leeks and shallots. I added bacon sliced into one inch pieces and a bay leaf. The soup is delicious, the lima beans are silky and light. (Nothing like the dry pasty limas I've eaten before. ) All in all a definite crowd pleaser! This will definitely be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I wouldn't call this quick, but it is pretty easy and very satisfying - especially on a cold day. We loved it. I used 4 cups of veggie stock and 1 bouillon cube to cut back on sodium, but then had to add a dash of salt. I also added a bay leaf, a pinch of thyme and a large dash of white pepper. We will make this again and again. Though we are vegetarian I could tell this soup would be off the charts if a ham bone was added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe, have made it for several friends and everyone loves it!! A 14oz. can of diced tomatoes is a wonderful addition, but just as good without it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I found this recipe decent enough. I used 3 carrots, 1 large, 2 small, because I didn't have enough and a quarter of a small white onion instead of the shallots and leek. I don't know if it's because I didn't use enough vegetables, but the soup was a little salty. This is a great base recipe but I definitely plan on adding a can of tomatoes next time and maybe some parley to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States