Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't include the leek, shallots, or celery. Instead I used one white onion and a sixteen ounce can of diced tomatoes (drained). It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars, HOWEVER, I DID MAKE CHANGES. I didn't use leek or shallots because I only used what I had on hand. I used 1 large onion and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of bouillon, then added fresh thyme (2 tsp) and fresh chopped spinach (3/4 cup) last 15 minutes of cook time. Seasoned with fresh ground pepper and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It's a no brainer that I will be making this again.My family,even picky children loved it.I thought there would be lots left over to eat for a few days,but it disappeared in less than a day.I did throw in a ham bone and some ham bits I had leftover in the freezer.Otherwise followed recipe to the letter.Fantastic,thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I added ham and cooked the soup in a slow cooker on low for 7 hours. Few pulses with an emulsion blender makes for a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Easy to make and a hearty soup. In the final cooking I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Also sauted some spinach with the veggies. Great flavor. Let everyone add there own salt. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
What I really liked about this recipe is that if you sub onion for leek and shallot, you can make it from basic staples from the pantry. It was very flavorful and there are flavor tweaking options in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Simple and delicious. My daughter, who is not a fan of carrots, inhaled this soup. I too just used 1 cup of chopped onions instead of leek & shallots. I'm not a fan of celery and I can't just buy two stalks, so I omitted completely. Used chicken bouillon because that's what I had. Will make again! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had a bag of dried limas just laying around for months. This soup seemed so simple, that I knew it would be good. I didn't have any leeks or shallots, so I used a red onion instead. I added a bay leaf and garlic, too. I soaked the beans overnight, then threw everything together in the slow cooker on high for 5 hours. When it was done, I wilted about 4 cups of fresh spinach into it. So easy and yummy! It made about 10 servings of about 1 1/4 cups each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This turned out just heavenly. I made a few adjustments namely: 2 leek bulbs instead of one, one large clove garlic, heaping teaspoon of Hungarian paprika, saute in coconut oil and added olive oil later (3 tblsp), 2 chicken bouillons and 2 tsp of Vegeta and a few drops of liquid smoke. I used 3 cups of Lima beans and used 8-9 cups water and voila a thick soup made for a king! This is going to be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States