Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is fall weather comfort food! This is a mellow, yet, flavorable dinner dish. A very easy meal to make: just put the bean in a pot to soak overnight or early in the morning, then put the soup together and just let the soup simmer until the beans are soft. I did add a ham hock since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good! I am going to try it i the crock put next time. Thanks for a great Vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Della

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
VERY good! i feasted on this recipe and its leftovers for a week! I Never tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this because I had bought a bag of dried lima beans at a grocery outlet store for 25 cents, and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like other reviewers, I wasn't expecting something great. I only wanted a recipe to use the beans. What a surprise! It was unexpectedly rich and creamy (I pureed 3 cups of the soup to thicken it up), and so flavorful. I followed there recipe exactly and only added a teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. We had this soup, a wedge salad and bread and it was a great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was the first soup I tried after deciding to go vegetarian. It is amazing! Thank you for such an easy and great-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It reminded me of Chicken Noodle Soup (I added chicken for my kids benefit) with Lima Beans instead of Noodles. It was a little bland and needed more flavor. Salt, Sour Cream, and Cheddar Cheese made this more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
wonderful recipe...we love it..Freezes well, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This soup turned out great! I had to cook the beans a bit longer than stated and I used some cornstarch to thicken the broth because I used regular vegetable broth instead of bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME! I made a little bacon and used the bacon grease to cook up the veggies. I also added a can of chopped tomatoes towards the end. YUM-0! I'll be making this one again for sure. We are a SOUP family and this ones a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I was so wrapped up scarfing it down that I forgot to take a picture, as I normally would. Yum! My boyfriend liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States