Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Granted I used onion instead of leeks and shallots, but the flavor of this soup was not to my liking. It may just be lima beans that taste funny to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Ive made lima bean soup the way my Grandmother who lived through the depression did for years. I thought I would try this and made this recipe exactly the way the recipe called for. So disappointed. Truly all you need is dried lima beans, ham (I buy the precut bits) water & salt & pepper. Nothing else. Stick it on the stove on low & cook for hours keeping watch the water doesn't all get absorbed into the beans, if it does add more water & allow to thicken up. We always eat it with buttered bread. You truly don't need the other ingredients & I won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This is a fine recipe except for the fact that it calls for a vegetable buillon cube. Much better to use 4 cups of your own homemade veggie broth and omit the water. Easy, too. Every time you have onion or garlic skins, mushroom parts, asparagus ends, etc., add them to your ziplock veggie bag in the freezer. When the bag is full to bursting, bring the veggie parts to a boil with plenty of water, and then simmer for a couple hours. Reserve liquid in pot, squeeze the juice out of the veggies into the pot (a ricer works well for squeezing), and boil down until the flavors sparkle. Put broth in ziplock bags and freeze. Here's what Knorr veggie cubes contain: Salt, Palm Oil, Monosodium Glutamate, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Sugar, Onion Powder, Corn Starch, Water, Dehydrated Cabbage, Dehydrated Carrots, Celery Seed, Caramel Color, Disodium Inosinate, Dehydrated Parsley, Spices, Garlic Powder, Citric Acid, Turmeric (for color), Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, TBHQ. Note that salt is the main ingredients and that the cube contains "partially hydrogenated" oil; that's transfat, folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is a wonderful, hearty soup that will stick to your ribs. I subbed veggie stock for the bouillon and water, added about 2 Tbs garlic and some S&P to taste, and I did it all in my slow cooker (after boiling/soaking/rinsing the beans) which meant no oil. I added some turkey bacon which was okay, but honestly I wish I hadn't..... even my husband the carnivore agreed which was a shock. It's fantastic as-is, and I forwarded the link to a vegan friend who is a beginner cook. Note: don't forget to rinse your leeks very thoroughly after they are chopped because they tend to trap dirt between the layers! I will make this recipe again and again.... SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Im not sure why so many people rated this so high. The soup was ok but it lacked depth and flavor. Next time I will add some herbs and maybe some spice. As it was both my husband and myself added seasoning at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was really good! I didn't have time to sautee the veggies and just cooked it for about 2 hours. My kids could not WAIT to eat it because the house smelled so good while it was cooking. It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good. I do normally follow a recipe to the T the first time, but had to adjust this one. I do not use bouillon so used four cups veggie stock instead. I also threw it into the crock pot. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't include the leek, shallots, or celery. Instead I used one white onion and a sixteen ounce can of diced tomatoes (drained). It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars, HOWEVER, I DID MAKE CHANGES. I didn't use leek or shallots because I only used what I had on hand. I used 1 large onion and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of bouillon, then added fresh thyme (2 tsp) and fresh chopped spinach (3/4 cup) last 15 minutes of cook time. Seasoned with fresh ground pepper and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States