Luscious Lima Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good - I make a similar version. Smoked pork hocks or shanks. After a few hours, trim the fat (discard) and dice the meat and re-add it back into the soup. I only use corriander (a pinch or so) and pepper for spices. No bacon, potatoes, celery or butter needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Uh.... like...YUM?!! I was not expecting this to be nearly as good as it is! (sorry for doubting!) I used turkey bacon, so I didn't pre-cook it. Might add one less can of chicken broth next time so it'll be thicker. But the broth itself is wonderful! I never knew lima bean soup could be so delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was pretty tasty! I like my soup a little less brothy, so in the future I might puree a bit of it to make it feel thicker. I also added a touch of garlic to it as well. Cured my craving for lima bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was so good!!! I left out the butter and cooked it on the stovetop for and hour and a half instead of the slow cooker. I never thought lima beans could be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I liked this soup a lot - I've tried it with bacon and with ham - it's equally good both ways. I will put it in my soup rotation. And, the best thing about it - it's easy! (I didn't feel that 3 slices of bacon was really enough when I followed the directions the first time - perhaps more would have made it a 5 star recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Claye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Really good! Used a bag of baby lima beans and Fordhook limas (bigger) and some diced ham. Yummy for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Unbelievably good...turned this non Lima bean fan into a believer! The bacon is the kicker, it turns a good soup into a great one. My whole family loves it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! I used lower sodium chicken broth to cut back on that a little and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacy05ag

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good recipe with a decent amount of flavor, and fairly healthy. One of the better soups. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workoutman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States