Luscious Lilikoi Chiffon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Loved this recipe. Cut the sugar in the meringue to 1/2 cup. perfectly light. Made with fresh lilikoi fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used one packet of gelatin, less sugar, and orange peel instead of lemon. My husband loved it. Next time, I'll make my own crust. I've got lilikoi growing wild in my yard... thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I tried this using the suggests reduced sugar and gelatin. very good but I might try reducing the sugar a little more, and perhaps reducing the lemon zest as well, so the passion fruit taste comes through more strongly. Make it in advance if you can because it tastes better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just what I was looking for! I live 5 minutes from Hamura's and LOVE their pie. Wanted to duplicate it and this is it! Used fresh lilikoi juice and a homemade crust. Thanks for sharing....think I'll have another piece :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lihue, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
LIGHT AS AIR! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the delicious passion fruit taste. I used 1 packet of gelatin (= a little less than 1 Tblsp.), which was the perfect amount. I beat 8 teasp. meringue powder with 1/2 cup water (equaling 4 egg whites), instead of using the egg whites because the whites weren't being cooked (I'll simply use those whites in an omelette or cake).I reduced the sugar added to the egg whites to 1/2 cup, because this made for a lightly sweetened filling. The recipe didn't specify what form of p'fruit juice, so I chose Goya brand 100% pure "Fruit Pulp" ( available in the freezer section of Latin & some regular grocery stores). Because this wonderfully strong flavored fruit pulp (which is really more of a puree) doesn't have added sugar & thus is very tangy, I added 2 Tblsp. sugar to make it more like a juice. (Use the frozen fruit juice concentrate only as a last resort, as it is super sweet & with a minimal p'fruit taste.) I made my own pastry crust, adding ground macadamia nuts to further elicit the flavors of Hawaii. Lastly, I cooked 2 thick syrups of pomegranate & of p'fruit to drizzle over the plated slices. Beautiful jewel tones! This was an easy pie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe is to die for! I made it with frozen lilikoi concentrate (found in frozen fruit juice section) and it was a great hit after our Thanksgiving meal. I live in Hawaii and have lilikoi growing in my yard, but happened to be on the Mainland when I made this recipe. It was lucious and creamy and I wish I had made two pies. Great recipe...mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I like this recipe and have made it several times using fresh lilikoi from my yard. However, the one thing I changed was the crust. Make your own crust! Homemade crust is so much better - whether graham cracker or I have made a pastry crust with crushed macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
TOO rubbery - reduce gelatin to 1 packet. TOO sweet - reduce sugar in egg white mixture to 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States