Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary  Callan
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The BEST lemon cookie ever!!! I used 2 3/4 cups flour, zest of 3 large lemons, 1/2 cup canola oil and almost a full cup of fresh squeezed lemon and let it sit in the frig overnight only because I was too tired to bake them the same day. I used two spoons to place dough on cookie sheet by the 1/2 teaspoon only. (Scoop up mixture with one spoon and scrap off with the other). I baked for 8 minutes as I wanted soft cookies. Very delicious, tangy but sweet mixture. So freckin' good if you loooove lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary  Callan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I was discouraged by all the other reviews, but was ery pleasantly surprised! I cut down a lot on the oil (about 50ml) and used the juice of 2 huge lemons to compensate on liquid. I also chilled the dough for a bit before baking, although I don't know if it needed this. They came out beautifully, not too flat, and with a light golden brown edge. The taste is very "zingy", great for a lemon lover like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Too much oil from the start--the first third of the dough, I sopped up a little oil before dropping them on the cookie sheet. This first batch took forever to cook--it seemed like almost 20 minutes, although I stopped counting after a while and just looked at the cookies... I ended up refridgerating 2/3 of the dough, and when I took it out six hours later, a lot of the oil had come out of the dough. It turned out to be a good thing because they seemed to bake faster than the first batch (12 minutes for pretty crisp cookies after cooling). I would suggest about 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 3/4 cup from the recipe. Otherwise, the cookies turned out pretty well, kind of like crunchier lemon bars. Like lemon bars, they turn out pretty tart, and could use a sprinkling of powdered sugar to balance the tartness (I also didn't use the lemon zest, because of personal preference, but I used more pulp in the cookie instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Delicious Recipe! I have made these cookies many times now and my kids, my husband, my mom, and my father-in-law all go WILD over them. I use the recipe EXACTLY as shown. Some hints to make the cookies turn out well are: 1. Keep the cookies on the small side. They do flatten, just like all "snap" cookies do. 2. Leave the cookies on the sheet for five minutes or so after they are done cooking. It will help them slide off the pan much easier. (When using baking stones, as I do, there's no need to grease the stone if it's seasoned.) 3. Defenitely use the zest along with lemon juice. You don't need any fancy gadget to zest, just use a cheese grater. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I loved these cookes. Preparation is very easy--the hardest part was zesting the lemons. I had hoped it would have been a little more tart; I will try to add a bit more lemon juice and decrease the sugar the next time. Or perhaps using lemon extract instead of vanilla. I did 50-50 melted butter and vegetable oil ('cause I wanted a buttery taste)--worked fabulous. I've already gotten a request for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Although I hate to zest citrus, this recipe is worth it! The cookies came out crisp on the edges and softer in the middle, and they are sweet and tangy. I only got three dozen, so I must have made them larger than the recipe called for, but I don't mind, I'll just make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
these turned out really flat and oily. i followed directions exactly. they just taste like flat floury disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Oh, heaven help those who use this recipe. Vegan is hard enough to bake with when it comes to cookies. Usually, they spread out, get gooey, stick like taffy to your baking sheet, and then sometimes they turn out wonderfully. Wonderful did not happen with these cookies. My only advice since the taste is decent, keep your cookies small. Small and less oil. Also when removing from the sheet. Cool them at least 5 mins first. Then take the side of your spatula and in short QUICK movements transfer the cookie to the cooling rack. I wish you the best. Some will love this and some will curse it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I've been baking for twenty years, so I have had time and experience enough to know a good cookie when I see it. a) These have far too much oil which makes them greasy and puffy. b) They spread too thin after baking due to the excess greasing of the cookie sheet. c) Even on a greased sheet they are very difficult to remove without utterly falling apart. d) The flavour is decent but not mind-blowing. I maintain a baking journal in which I rate each recipe on a 1-5 scale; these got a 1. I don't even know what to do with the rest of the dough; I will have to try and modify it so that I can have something edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Eh. These were okay. Very crispy, not the lemony-est cookies I've ever had. I might make them again in a pinch, but I think I'll keep looking for the perfect lemon crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States