Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a yummy recipe! And for people with allergies, its great: no eggs, no dairy, no nuts! I sprinkled on colored sugar before baking to add a little Christmas sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I've been looking for a tart lemon cookie that I can freeze and thaw easily -- no icing, preferably. I made these and am test-freezing them, though I did taste them just out of the oven. My "recipe mutations:" I'm not vegan, and I was concerned about the greasiness mentioned in some of the reviews, so I used butter (1 stick) instead of vegetable oil. I also used the juice and zest of 2 good-sized lemons instead of measuring it (but it looked to my eyes to be about the measurements in the original recipe) and substituted 1 tsp lemon extract for one of the tsps of vanilla. That gave the dough a nicely tart bite. I also added 3 drips of yellow gel food coloring. The dough wasn't coming completely together with stirring (of course, I had left out 1/4 c. of oil), so I mixed it with "impeccably clean hands" to finish incorporating the flour. Instead of greasing the cookie sheet I used a silicone liner. My first three "test cookies" were teaspoon-size drop cookies baked for 10 minutes. They came off the pan easily, were lumpy, and did taste like Trix. Not bad, and my husband liked them (he said, "You can't go too wrong with lemon and butter), but they still didn't capture that lemon "zing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This cookie is GREAT! I used Splenda in the place of sugar. You can really taste the lemon and their very light in texture. Would recommend for anyone that likes lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
We make these about once or twice a month. One of my daughters has a life threating dairy allergy and these are a blessing. My 10 year old makes these on her own....including the zesting...whenever we are having company....different and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I made this recipe for my co-op, and they got eaten up pretty quickly! I used about 2/3 of the oil recommended, as suggested by someone else here. That seemed to be a good amount. I also didn't have any lemon zest, so I used orange zest. The dough didn't seem to have much flavor, so I added a bit more lemon juice and some freshly squeezed OJ. That did the trick! I didn't have any vanilla extract, but they still tasted delicious. I wouldn't call these lemon snaps, though... mine turned out pretty chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This was a really good recipe; I have a little girl who is allergic to eggs and dairy, so it is tough to find good cookies to make her and this one is fantastic! I don't recommend cooking them the lesser because then they are way too soft. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Too much oil from the start--the first third of the dough, I sopped up a little oil before dropping them on the cookie sheet. This first batch took forever to cook--it seemed like almost 20 minutes, although I stopped counting after a while and just looked at the cookies... I ended up refridgerating 2/3 of the dough, and when I took it out six hours later, a lot of the oil had come out of the dough. It turned out to be a good thing because they seemed to bake faster than the first batch (12 minutes for pretty crisp cookies after cooling). I would suggest about 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 3/4 cup from the recipe. Otherwise, the cookies turned out pretty well, kind of like crunchier lemon bars. Like lemon bars, they turn out pretty tart, and could use a sprinkling of powdered sugar to balance the tartness (I also didn't use the lemon zest, because of personal preference, but I used more pulp in the cookie instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Divine- tangy and sweet with the perfect crispy texture! The best internet cookie recipe I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I was discouraged by all the other reviews, but was ery pleasantly surprised! I cut down a lot on the oil (about 50ml) and used the juice of 2 huge lemons to compensate on liquid. I also chilled the dough for a bit before baking, although I don't know if it needed this. They came out beautifully, not too flat, and with a light golden brown edge. The taste is very "zingy", great for a lemon lover like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
these turned out really flat and oily. i followed directions exactly. they just taste like flat floury disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States