Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made a half-batch, with less oil and more lemon juice as other reviewers suggested. The flavor was nice and lemony, but the texture was awful. The cookies were flat and rock hard, not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Cravy
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made these essentially as written - 3/4 cup of vegetable oil and all! The only difference being I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Baked for 10 mins in the oven, these were delicious. I brought them to work and all of my coworkers loved them - they are a deliciously different cookie. Next time, I would use more lemon zest and juice because I like a tangy flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I reduced the oil some but other then that I followed the recipe exactly. I wish they were a little more tart. The cookie has a perfect balance of sweetness to tartness, It isn't overboard of either flavor, but I like alot of lemon flavor. If I were to make these again, I will try them with butter instead of the oil and more lemon juice for tartness. Update*- I froze half of the batch, and I find that I like to eat them better as frozen cookies! they seem to melt/defrost instantly while you chew them :) THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I read the other ratings and we adjusted the oil to 1/2 cup, adding a little more lemon juice to compensate. Then, we refrigerated the dough overnight. These turned out WONDERFUL! Our very young son has a severe dairy protein allergy. I was saddened at the thought that he wouldn't be able to eat Christmas cookies when everyone else was enjoying a treat. We made these up and he LOVES them. Thank you, thank you, thank you to the this recipe's author for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very tasty! Perfect for my dairy-allergic boy. Something the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except that I halved the ingredients and reduced the oil by 1 tbsp (would have been 2 if I hadn't halved it). These were okay but they weren't very sweet. Perhaps the problem is that I don't know what a "snap" cookie is but I wanted a chewy, sweet lemony cookie and this wasn't it. Reminds me more of a lemon flavored tea cake cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
You know, my cookies didn't look anything like the ones in the picture, even though they tasted great. I re-read the recipe and realized I'd left out the baking soda--duh. They were flat, like wafers, and kind of crisp. But they were still wonderful! Leave out the baking soda and see what you think - they'd be awesome with some ice cream and raspberries, as one of my friends said. Next time I will definitely use the baking soda...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Not bad for a vegan cookie. Has an unusual texture, but they stay soft for a long time which is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
easy enough to make, but next time i will use less oil,and increase the lemon. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary  Callan
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The BEST lemon cookie ever!!! I used 2 3/4 cups flour, zest of 3 large lemons, 1/2 cup canola oil and almost a full cup of fresh squeezed lemon and let it sit in the frig overnight only because I was too tired to bake them the same day. I used two spoons to place dough on cookie sheet by the 1/2 teaspoon only. (Scoop up mixture with one spoon and scrap off with the other). I baked for 8 minutes as I wanted soft cookies. Very delicious, tangy but sweet mixture. So freckin' good if you loooove lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary  Callan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States