Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Eh. These were okay. Very crispy, not the lemony-est cookies I've ever had. I might make them again in a pinch, but I think I'll keep looking for the perfect lemon crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
easy to make, I had all the ingredients needed at home. I substituted the oil with 1 cup of ground flax seed meal and 1/2 cup of oil to cut out some of the fats and it worked out well! Could stand to use a little more lemon juice and rind, but still a moist inside and crispy edge cookie! (cut baking time to 9 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
To me this was an okay recipe. Although my boyfriend can't say that. He devoured them! After reading some reviews I went ahead and used 1/2 cup of oil, everything worked out fine:) Also I used lemon juice from concentrate. I think that thats why I didn't fall in love with them. To me I really didn't taste any lemon at all. Also I did powder them with powder sugar. But again I'll say that this is an okay recipe if you use lemon concentrate, next time I'm definitely using fresh lemon juice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Wimauma, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe, I wish i had read the reviews before I started. I ended up adding about a 1/4 cup of flour to get a batch of good full cookies, but well worth the time to tweek it. I love the flavor, I used 3 large wild lemons and the flavor was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I only tried this recipe because I had lots of lemons to use up. I won't make it again. They were ok, but the "dough" was more like a batter and the cookies came out really thin and not appealing. I added some flour to the rest of the batter to form "dough" and baked the rest. They were ok, but not excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I don't like these cookies so much. I love lemon, but these were a pain. I read the reviews and decided to cut the oil down to a 1/2 c. I should've cut it more. These things spread like crazy, so much so that I put the remaining batter in muffin cups. The muffins were not any better than the cookies--they rose and fell in the oven. The only thing I didn't do was to refrigerate the cookies overnight, but I really wanted to make them today. Too bad--could've been a good cookie. Some of the pieces I scraped off didn't taste too bad, but the oily taste wasn't my favorite. I'll try other recipes instead. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was looking for more of a lemon taste. Also the dough seemed to have a wierd consistency and didn't stay together too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These came out wonderfully, with a few modifications. I used a full cup of lemon juice and only half a cup of oil. The dough was pretty gooey, so I chilled it for several hours and then shaped the cookies with damp hands. They taste sweet when you first bite into them but have a nice tangy aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
zingy from the lemon, with great texture (crisp outside, chewy inside). just remember to cut down the oil (and in my case - sugar) - I added the lemon juice and vanilla to the dry ingredients, then slowly added in the oil while mixing, and stopped adding oil when the dough got to the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made a half-batch, with less oil and more lemon juice as other reviewers suggested. The flavor was nice and lemony, but the texture was awful. The cookies were flat and rock hard, not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States