Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
OMG! These are perfect! I don't usually take the time to comment - but I had to this time. I made these to give as Christmas gifts - and everyone loved them! I also shared recipe with my sister. This is my new favorite cookie! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I wish I would have read more reviews...too many high star ratings with modifications made me think at a glance that these would turn out as is. Mine spread out way thin and I was disappointed (too much oil, as it turns out, and as many have remarked). They honestly look like a little stack of pancakes, not cookies at all :( I MAY try again with less oil, but will probably experiment with other recipes first...just needs too many modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great lemony flavor! As suggested by other reviewers, i used more lemon juice and less oil. Sprinkled them with yellow sugar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Not your traditional cookie. Don't be alarmed by the oily dough or the flat thin cookies. These really are snaps. I used zest and fresh juice and the initial taste is good. But they do have an oily aftertaste. I probably won't make them again. If I do, I might try adding a cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I read the reviews before starting and decided to start with 1/4 cup of oil and add as necessary. I think this is a decent starting point for a lemon cookie. I kept them in the oven until the edges were a little brown, then took them out. They were still soft in the middle, but cooled to a decent texture. I didn't get the zesty lemon flavor I was hoping for. The next time I use this recipe, I plan to add more lemon juice and try using butter instead of oil. I think with a little doctoring, this could be a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Delicious! Soft and crunchy, sweet and lemony. I followed Mary Callan's recomendations and increased the flour and lemon juice while decreasing the oil. I mixed the final batter together by hand and topped the cookies off with a little sugar fresh out of the oven. I can't wait to play with this recipe and add raspberries or poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
so easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I was so stoked about making this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly with the exception of taking Mary Callan's suggestions on these supstitutions: "Full Review Apr. 6, 2007The BEST lemon cookie ever!!! I used 1 1/4 cup sugar, zest of two very large lemons, juice of three very large lemons (almost a full cup) and 1/2 cup of canola. Fantastic - I guarantee!!!" Unfortunately, this did not turn out as it should have. I took Juanita (the recipe maker's) suggestion and put all the ingredients into the food processor until it thickened to a dough. However, the batter never thickened into a dough. Instead, it was the more like the consistency of icing. I thought it might help to place the mixure in the refrigerator (like other suggested to remove the thin consistency of the oil--even though I added much less oil than the recipe called for), but it never thickened up to a dough consistency. Very disappointing. I hate wasting food and I had to throw away this entire recipe as it was useless. Now, I am wondering what went wrong. It may be the baking properties of lemon juice and oil. I am on a mission now to find out. If anyone has any suggestions or comments, let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Wow! I cannot stop eating these cookies! I also ate about half the batter while making them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I didn't have good luck with these. They were very thin and either too hard or too soft. They either broke apart or fell apart. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States