Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by FoodByLauren
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great recipe! I baked for 7 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I've been baking for twenty years, so I have had time and experience enough to know a good cookie when I see it. a) These have far too much oil which makes them greasy and puffy. b) They spread too thin after baking due to the excess greasing of the cookie sheet. c) Even on a greased sheet they are very difficult to remove without utterly falling apart. d) The flavour is decent but not mind-blowing. I maintain a baking journal in which I rate each recipe on a 1-5 scale; these got a 1. I don't even know what to do with the rest of the dough; I will have to try and modify it so that I can have something edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This one is hard to review. Had I rated them right out of the oven, I would've given it ONE star and called them a waste of good lemons. The next day, however... they improved! Somehow... they were still chewy and not what I expected, but maybe they grew on me overnight. Who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made these exactly by the recipe and the first batch was very, very mushy. I went back and added 1/4 cup flour with the same results. These mushy although the mush tastes good. Would not make to serve to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
While I agree it does have an intense lemon flavor, ultimately with that amount of oil, it gives it a greasy fried aftertaste. Disappointing. Perhaps it could be made with less oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karla
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Mmm Mmm good! Per other reviewers changed oil to 1/2 cup, and only 1 cup of sugar (I don't like it too sweet). Baked 12 minutes. Otherwise as written. Came out very good and great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franny
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make. I took the advice of others and added only 1/2 C. oil and added more juice in a slow stream until the dough came together. I've also tried with oranges/orange juice and lemon extract substituted for the vanilla and all of those combos work nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Lemony, sweet, and easy! I used 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup canola oil instead of 3/4 cup oil. Two tablespoons of lemon zest took four or five lemons, zesting every bit of yellow I could find. I used a teaspoon measuring spoon to scoop out the dough and then I rolled the bit of dough into a ball, 25 per sheet. Take them out before they brown unless you want crunchy cookies. Using a cooled cookie sheet will give you lovely cracks in the cookies, like ginger snaps. Made about 80 small cookies, each one terrific! Brought them to the office today, and my coworkers love them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kilpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Tastewise these were good. My husband and several other extended family members thought they were good. However, the dough is so runny. A teaspoon of dough place on a cookie sheets bakes into a nearly 3 inch diameter cookie! And, its hard as a rock despite the reduced cookie time stated in the directions. I made these over the holiday for my Christmas cookie platter, however, I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I followed the directions precisely. Some of my cookies were crisper than others, not sure why. I thought the cookies came out very bitter, but perhaps the lemons were off. My husband loved them, but my children and I could not get over the bitter taste. We are a family who loves lemon, so I will try one more time, perhaps in summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States