Luscious Lemon Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Oh my goodness. I just took out the first batch and they are wonderful. I made two changes. First, I used butter (unsalted, as I always do for baking) and second, I used 1 teaspoon of lemon oil and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Using my 1 1/2" cookie scoop I got a dozen 3 1/2" cookies per sheet, baked on parchment. I tested them at 7 and 10 minutes and found them perfectly done at 12 minutes with lightly-browned edges but still chewy in the middle. I cooled them for 5 minutes before transferring to a rack to finish cooling but I couldn't wait and I was rewarded. I should also note that I used Meyer lemons (a friend grows them, lucky me!) and my stand mixer following the common method of creaming the sugar and butter with the zest then adding the juice, extracts and finally, stirring in the combined dry ingredients. I am going to ask for more lemons. These cookies came out fabulously for me and I hope my experience will be of help to others who have yet to try the recipe or who had less-than-spectacular results in the past. I'll let you know how they keep, assuming they do....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Crrunchy and yummy. I would add more lemon rind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this recipe just as it was written and they were delicious! They looked exactly like the picture showed. I had none of the problems with the batter, greasiness, or crumbling that other reviewers complained of (wondering what elevation they were, perhaps needed adjustment for that? I'm at sea-level.) Just a couple things though, I did NOT grease the cookie sheet. I did process the dry mix for about 5 min using the paddle attachment on my KitchenAid to help infuse the flour and sugar with the zest before adding wet ingredients, as well as after to bring it to dough. The consistency of the dough was similar to sugar cookies, and should not be wet or overly sticky. I dropped by measured teaspoon balls (do not flatten) onto cookie sheet and baked exactly 11 min in a well preheated oven. They came out as I said exactly as they appear in the photo - about a 1/4" or so thick, crispy outside, slightly chewy inside. Cooled about 5 min on sheet, and removed with no problems. They are sweet and lemony and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Flavor was fantastic, but the consistency was not. Thin and crumbly, I could not get a decent batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
First off, I'll say that I'm no novice when it comes to cookies. I'd even say that when it comes to baking, cookies are my forte. I just don't know what went wrong this time around. I did what other reviewers suggested: I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and added a little more lemon juice. I also included twice the amount of rind, reduced the sugar a bit, and processed the rind with half the sugar. The batter wasn't runny at all, though it was a bit sticky. I used a small cookie scoop and baked the cookies for nine minutes and got delightfully soft lemon cookies that reminded me a bit of a sugar (or, dare I say it, the texture of a funfetti cookie). The texture was wonderfully. Unfortunately, the flavor of the cookie left much to be desired. It tasted like flavorless biscuit batter. With all the lemon I put in there, I thought my taste buds would be bursting with lemon with lemon sensation. I've used less lemon zest in other recipes (and no lemon juice) and have gotten much stronger lemon flavors. Perhaps it's the use of oil instead of butter that killed the flavor, but I can honestly say that I'll never make these cookies again. It's a shame too, since they had such a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I did not care for these. Sorry. I did the "put it all in the food processor" option and they were just plain weird. I usually never fail on cookies, but this was a waste of ingredients. I used 1/2 cup butter and oil, and fresh lemons with excellent rinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I like having two dessert choices when guests are over and this is a great complement to chocolatey dishes. I zested and juiced two lemons - was just short of the 1/2 cup juice so I supplemented with bottled. Only 1/2 cup oil - which is maybe why my dough was a little dry to work with. Rolled, flatted slightly, baked on silicon for about 12-14 minutes and are perfectly tart and chewy! Smelled so good when baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These cookies weren't very attractive looking, but they taste absolutely amazing. The perfect amount of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Not my favorite. I think it needs baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodByLauren
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great recipe! I baked for 7 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States