Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was an excellent cake. To the cake; I added the rind of 1/2 a lemon. It was extremely moist. Fresh rind always keeps a cake moist. I made it in 2 9" layers and baked them for 30 min. I didn't use the frosting as I wanted it filled between layers (I slit each to make 4 layers) with a lemon filling recipe that was quite unusual. 4oz. Cream cheese soften, 3/4 c. lemonade concentrate & 1 can sweetened condensed milk. Beat together and fold in cool whip. It was a superb choice. Used more grated rind and strawberries for finishing touches around top and base of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
i LOVED the cake, but i hated the glaze.... would make the cake again but with a different topping - all the glaze was was melted lemon sugar! the cake though was VERY fast and easy to make, fool proof. i dusted the pan with powdered sugar over nonstick spray - came out easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used lemonade instead of water and spiked it with a little lemon extract b/c we love lemon so much. For a glaze I squeezed fresh lemon juice into some store bought cream cheese icing until it became liquid enough to drizzle all over the bundt. These couple of changes make it a lemon zinger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This cake came out wonderful! I made it for my grandmothers birthday and everyone loved it! The sryup you put on it really adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I have made this cake 7 times now... i get the best response every time....however i will never BOIL the syrup....if you do and it gets into a candy stage is could seal your cake to the pan...and like me you will have to claw the cake out of the pan....still tastes great....but won't come away from the pan.... so just blend the powder sugar with the lemon juice you don't have to heat it to get it to blend.... and i put sugar on the pan instead of flouring it.....and it makes a slight crunchiness to the outside everyone loves... it's a keeper recipes thats for sure!!! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
after reading everyone's comments, i chickened out and waited until the cake was completely cool (about 4 hours) to invert it and pour a thickened version of the glaze over the top. the result was great; it gave the cake a shiny look and added moistness to the already moist cake. i garnished it with some fresh lemon slices and it looked really simple and beautiful. my family easter included 6 cakes and 15 people so i considered it a good review that my lemon cake was mostly eaten by the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I followed the directions to a "T" as they say and ended up with a big mess in the pan. The cake would not release from the pan. It split into several pieces. I think the problem is the one hour cooling period is too long. Letting the syrup sit for this long makes it too sticky and thus causes the cake to stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
If you like the taste of lemon like I do then you will love this receipe! It is very moist and delicious and it got rave reviews at my small dinner party. I'm lookin forward to serving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I give the cake itself 5 stars for taste, however I followed some of the advice and used sugar instead of flour when I greased the bundt pan. Long story short, half the cake never came out of the pan and I had to use a spoon to get it out - it was that sticky with the glaze. Cake itself was very moist, but end product looked like a train wreck. I waited 2 1/2 hours to invert, no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States