Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this cake for my son who loves lemon cake. Followed the recipe and even used a nonstick bundt pan and liberally greased and floured it, but half the cake stuck to the pan. I was very disappointed. Luckily my son is teenager and will eat it anyway. I give it 3 stars for flavor only. Next time I will allow it to cool 10 min place it on the cake rack and pour the glaze on while it's still warm. I hoping for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
i didn't change anything from the recipe and we loved it. Very yummy and not too over powering on the lemon. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
WOW! This was truly amazing! Like other reviewers, I didn't attempt to add the glaze until after the cake cooled and was out of the pan. Because of this, I had to much glaze and it was too thin. But it soaked in and the cake eas even better the next day. Next time, I'll make half the glaze and use less liquid so it's thicker. I alo heated the lemon juice before stirring it in the confection sugar (rather than boiling it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
absolute profection! it was awesome and so incredibly moist. It's a keeper in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Yes, this cake was luscious. I followed the directions exactly, except I substituted lemon juice for water in the cake mix. I was concerned about the glaze preparation based on reviews from others. I made a few adjustments to avoid the cake sticking, and it worked perfectly. I prepared a non-stick bundt pan with non-stick spray and flour. I baked the cake for 45 minutes, removed from oven and cooled about 10 minutes. I prepared the galze dissolving the powdered sugar and lemon juice over heat, but not to boiling. I poured it over the cake in the pan (after the cake cooled for 10 min.), then let it cool an additinal 20 minutes before releasing it onto a plate. I sprinkeled it with more powdered sugar before serving. I was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was delicious. I made it as a layer cake with two 8" round cakes. I did choose to ice it with chocolate buttercream, and in retrospect I shouldn't have. The lemon flavor was so great that it didn't benefit from the chocolate. Next time I will try the bundt pan and the dusting of icing sugar. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My mom LOVED this cake... I thought it was pretty good. The cake itself is pretty moist and good although not as lemony as I thought it would be. The only thing I didn't care for was the crust for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
So moist and lemony. Just how I picture a lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I have been making this cake for years and it is sooo yummy! My girlfriends always request this at girls night out and have asked me for the recipe. My friend still has my bundt pan from when she made it last time so I am trying in a 9x11 metal baking pan. It probably won't look as pretty but excited to try it this way. The bundt pan requires a long time to cool. I'm hoping this is faster since the cake is not as dense. You will love this lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I used lemon gelatin jello mix instead of pudding mix, and I replaced the water with real lemon juice and it was out of this world lemony!! I've made this several times and discovered that real lemon juice makes all the difference. So easy and soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States