Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This cake has a great "lemony" flavor and is quick to make. I split the cake into 3 layers and filled it with lemon curd, then frosted it with lemon cream cheese icing made from an 8 oz. package of cream cheese, 1/4 c. lemon juice, 1 tsp. grated lemon peel and powdered sugar. I also added 1 tsp.grated lemon peel to the cake batter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This cake is fantastic! It's very easy, so new bakers shouldn't have a problem impressing family, or friends. And the taste is great. It is very moist. Also, a little tip, instead of flouring the pan, sugar it, with granulated sugar. It works just as well, & doesn't leave a white residue on the cake. I garnished with fresh lemon whipped cream, & YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I fell in love with a lemon cake at a local restaurant and went in search of the recipe. This recipe is even better! I bake it in 2 round cake pans and pour the glaze on while they are still in the pan. I also poke tiny holes in the cake as mentioned earlier. Then I frost it with cream cheese frosting. SO GOOD! It is now my most requested dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
My family loved this cake so much that I printed out the recipe and put it away under my favorites! I did not experience any problems previously mentioned; crumbly, messy, wouldn't release. I found it to be perfect. I did let it rest longer than an hour before I inverted it, and used a rubber spatula to help release the sides. (remember the sides of a cake/bundt pan should be room temp. before inverting)I poured the glaze over the cake while it was still inside the mold, just take your time and let it absorb a bit. The prep work is very similar to a Rum Cake, so you may even want to pierce holes in the cake for the icing so seep through. Good Luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I substituded butter for oil, used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of water, and fresh squeezeed in the drizzle. It was so good and truly was better the next day. I took it to work and people loved it. Kathleen3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a very moist, tender cake with great flavor. Very quick and easy to prepare. I did not have enough lemon juice but did have fresh orange juice so I used that and threw in the zest of one orange as well. I found a recipe similar to this recently and that recipe had blueberries in it. I had a couple of handfuls of frozen blueberries in the freezer so I added those too. Everyone really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I've made this cake three times now and its moist and lemony every time. I follow the recipe exactly. Deicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I have made this cake 7 times now... i get the best response every time....however i will never BOIL the syrup....if you do and it gets into a candy stage is could seal your cake to the pan...and like me you will have to claw the cake out of the pan....still tastes great....but won't come away from the pan.... so just blend the powder sugar with the lemon juice you don't have to heat it to get it to blend.... and i put sugar on the pan instead of flouring it.....and it makes a slight crunchiness to the outside everyone loves... it's a keeper recipes thats for sure!!! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Baked for work and got rave reviews. Very very moist and nice and lemony. Followed directions to a "T". I had no problem getting the cake out of the bundt pan. A cooking tip that my sister taught me is to buy a product called Bakers Joy. It is in the baking section of your local grocery store. It is in a can and is oil and flour combined. You just spray your bundt pan with it. Works perfect every time. I only waited about 15 minutes to flip the cake out of the bundt pan and it turned out perfect. (See photo) Thanks Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This cake is good, but make sure you use extra flour when preparing the pan b/c it is a sticky mess if you don't. I used a bundt pan.My cakes generally don't stick. An angel food pan would be easier but not as pretty. When inverting it about 1/3 of my cake stuck and I had to scrap it out and stick it together. When I tried to center the cake it wouldn't budge. I used fresh lemon juice for the glaze which is good, but the cake is extremely moist and super,super sweet. I may try to make this again b/c I really love lemon cake. The glaze causes the cake to stick when inverting so be careful. Perhaps making less of the glaze and pouring it over once the cake has been inverted would be a good solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States