Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Joy!
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I made this for a friend who loves lemon cake's birthday. I frosted it with chocolate cream cheese frosting. The cake was great, very lemony, moist and sweet; my friend loved it. The icing was great too. However, in the future, I don't think I'll pair the two again. The cake is so sweet by itself that it would be great without any frosting. The glaze makes the cake have a very golden, shiny texture. It's beautiful alone, great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. It tasted like it was made from scratch. For the glaze I added 4-5 tbsp of lemon juice along with a cup of powder sugar. My suggestion would be to add the frosting after the cake has cooled, that way the glaze shows up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made this on a Sunday exactly as written. My husband had a piece and then returned for another. At that point, he asked me to take the "evil" cake to work the next day because it possessed him. My co-workers downed what was left in about 15 minutes. It is moist, lemony and one of the best cakes I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday as he loves lemon...and he adored them. I think he ate half of them before dinner. I decided to make cupcakes (I don't have a bundt pan) and they turned out quite deliciously. The only thing is that it was a bit difficult to get the lemon drizzle to go into the cupcakes instead of all over the counter. We poked holes in the top of each one with a fork and that seemed to work pretty well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Moist and delicious. I took this to a dinner party and everyone loved it. The next day we had a party at our house and I got out the leftovers. Surprise! It was even better. Definitely 5 stars. I changed nothing but added 1/4 cup extra water because the batter was very thick and my hand mixer was struggling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this cake for a friend and could not get enough of it. Made it exactly as stated and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
great! Didn't change a thing other then i didn't do frosting. I just served with coffee very sweet! Everyone loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Great recipe. This cake is VERY lemony, but oh so moist! It went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This cake was delicious and very moist. I used the Baker's Joy, and I let the cake sit for an hour before turning onto a plate. Had no problems with it coming out. I followed the recipe exactly, except I was lazy and did not sift the powdered sugar, and I don't think it made any difference. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this cake and sprayed my bundt pan wiyh cooking spray and it came out perfect. I only needed to cook it 35-40 min, instead of the 50 stated. Also, at the last minute, I noticed that I didn't have any powdered sugar, so I used lemon supreme flavored cake icing. I was nervous at first, that it would be either too sweet or too lemony, but I put the icing on when the cake was right out of the oven and it melted like a glaze and was perfect. You don't even need a whole container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States