Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This cake is pure lemony goodness. I don’t usually like box cakes but this has a homemade taste. I used ¼ lemon juice with the water. I thought it would be nice to pour the glaze on the top but that would have just made a sticky mess. I was skeptical about pouring the glaze on the bottom but it worked perfectly and seeped through the entire cake without making the cake soggy. My entire family loved this and have already requested that we make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was excellent. I definitely prefer lemon cake recipes which use the lemon pudding instead of lemon jello. The lemon jello gives it a rubbery texture. Also, I did not cook the glaze -- just mixed the powdered sugar with the lemon juice. It helps to remove the lumps if you sift the powdered sugar first. I baked in a large (10 x 12) pyrex pan and poured glaze over top. Following advice of others, I poked holes in the top before pouring on the glaze. Tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The cake was very simple and good. I substituted applesauce for the oil and used real lemon juice. The whole family enjoyed it served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Davis
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this into a two layer cake and my family loved it. Our favorite cake yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'm a lemon freak so I followed some other reviewers' tips and added 1 tsp of lemon extract and used lemonade instead of water. My batter was extremely thick, so I ended up adding another 1/4 c. lemonade so I could operate the mixer for 5 minutes. Used cooking spray for baking and sugar to coat the bundt pan and cake inverted easily after maybe 20 minutes. As a beginner, I didn't understand beating the eggs until they were thick, so I just beat them a minute or so. I also didn't understand the concept of pouring in the glaze to the bottom of the cake in the bundt pan... I thought it would make it too gooey. I ended up putting on maybe half of the glaze after the cake was inverted and partially cooled -- don't think it helped it. Next time I will probably just dust with powdered sugar for appearance, because this cake would be plenty delicious and moist without the glaze. Thanks for a great recipe. Now who will save me from eating the whole thing today??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was an excellent cake. To the cake; I added the rind of 1/2 a lemon. It was extremely moist. Fresh rind always keeps a cake moist. I made it in 2 9" layers and baked them for 30 min. I didn't use the frosting as I wanted it filled between layers (I slit each to make 4 layers) with a lemon filling recipe that was quite unusual. 4oz. Cream cheese soften, 3/4 c. lemonade concentrate & 1 can sweetened condensed milk. Beat together and fold in cool whip. It was a superb choice. Used more grated rind and strawberries for finishing touches around top and base of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
i LOVED the cake, but i hated the glaze.... would make the cake again but with a different topping - all the glaze was was melted lemon sugar! the cake though was VERY fast and easy to make, fool proof. i dusted the pan with powdered sugar over nonstick spray - came out easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used lemonade instead of water and spiked it with a little lemon extract b/c we love lemon so much. For a glaze I squeezed fresh lemon juice into some store bought cream cheese icing until it became liquid enough to drizzle all over the bundt. These couple of changes make it a lemon zinger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This cake came out wonderful! I made it for my grandmothers birthday and everyone loved it! The sryup you put on it really adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States