Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Chose this recipe based on positive reviews. Baked 50 minutes as instructed, even though cake mix box said 40 minutes for bundt cake. Cake was black on top when it came out of the oven, even though I followed the recipe and placed on center rack. Made this as a birthday cake for a cousin who loves LEMON......she will never see this cake! Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Super delicious, but putting the glaze on and letting it soak for an hour before turning the cake out of the pan does not work well. Even though I greased and floured my bundt pan very well, half of the cake, drenched in sticky goodness, stayed in the pan. Next time I will drizzle the glaze on the cake AFTER I have turned it out onto the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I wasn't sure at first, but my mother in law loves lemon, so I made it for her birthday. This was so good, I ate 2 pieces for breakfast. Topped with lemon icing, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Excellent, so gooey and lemony. Looks nothing like the photo. Didn't have lemon cake mix, just yellow so used 1/4 cup of lemon juice in place of the water and it worked out perfect. My husband is in heaven with this cake right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
It was good, but WAY too sweet. My co-workers all said they liked it. Would make again and either leave out the lemon juice and powdered sugar or only use 1/3 of it. I couldn't find Bakers Joy that some of the reviews stated, so I bought PAM for baking. I thought after letting it sit for the hour, it wasn't going to come out of the pan, but it sure did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This cake is so delicious, yet very simple to make. I'm rating the cake because I did not use the lemon glaze. I used this for our Easter dessert, I made a basket cake. I doubled the recipe and used four 9 inch round pans, but only used 3 layers for the cake. They were done between 30-35 minutes at 350. It is moist, tender and bursting with wonderful lemon flavor. I wanted a lemon cake that wasn't too time consuming being I had to focus more on the decorating, and this fit the bill. I will try this for sure using the glaze because that sounds wonderful also. I frosted this with Rick's Special Buttercream from this site. Everyone loved this cake, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Really good, and easy! Used apple sauce and egg beaters to cut down on the fat. Still had a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJarrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to mimic the lemon loaf at Starbucks, and o-my-god, I came close enough with this one. Followed the recipe except I added the juice of one lemon and some zest into the batter, then cut out the glaze process because I thought it would be too sweet. Made a few tablespoons of a simple glaze (fat-free half & half, conf. sugar and a bit of lemon zest) and drizzled it on top. The cake was gorgeous, moist, lemony, and didn't taste like a mix. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I want to know how everyone makes the glaze without it being grainy. Mine came out in clumps of sugary globs on top of the cake when I flipped it over. I heated it just til boiling, should of I boiled longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This cake should be illegal! I made this once and then proceeded to make it every week for about 6. I made a glaze out of some butter, confectioners sugar and fresh squeezed lemon juice. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States