Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I used lemon gelatin jello mix instead of pudding mix, and I replaced the water with real lemon juice and it was out of this world lemony!! I've made this several times and discovered that real lemon juice makes all the difference. So easy and soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Might as well had made just the box cake, nothing special. The glaze just made the top part chewy, not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
There is no mistaking this cake for a scratch cake, but for a doctored up cake mix this is pretty darned good. I didn’t have lemon cake mix, as I prefer (and used) a French Vanilla Cake mix in any recipe calling for any variety of yellow or white cake mix. I also used vanilla pudding rather than lemon. For lemon flavor, then, I used a mix of 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice and enough sour mix (Fresca, leftover from Lemon Drop Martinis a couple of nights ago!) to make the total of 3/4 cup liquid. I also added a teaspoon of lemon extract and a full tablespoon of lemon zest. I did not use the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice syrup. Rather, I made a simple glaze of confectioners’ sugar, lemon juice, a dab of butter and a tablespoon or so of corn syrup. This is a “plain” and simple cake, not one of Hubs’ favorites for just that reason, as he prefers richer cakes with lots of frosting. This is light, moist and refreshing, delicious on its own but would also be nice with berries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was very moist and delicious. I love lemons so I added some lemon juice into the cake mix and it came out delicious. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terivieira1
Living In: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was a GREAT lemon cake- and so so easy! I used a half water half lemon juice mixture, and added lemon zest and a little vanilla for fun. Will make this again and again! **Totally forgot and left out the oil this time- but still turned out GREAT! A little dry, but it's my own fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Delicious. Texture was good. Easy to make. Appearance is nice. I love lemon flavor, so I added a dash of lemon extract to the cake mix. That was the only change/addition I made. Well, except that 50 minutes in my oven is too long. Oven temps vary so check it after 40 minutes or so as another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent cake, very moist and flavorful. However, 50 minutes is way too long in the oven...check for done after 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBRAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a very moist, tender cake with great flavor. Very quick and easy to prepare. I did not have enough lemon juice but did have fresh orange juice so I used that and threw in the zest of one orange as well. I found a recipe similar to this recently and that recipe had blueberries in it. I had a couple of handfuls of frozen blueberries in the freezer so I added those too. Everyone really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love this basic recipe. I made it for my birthday in a 3 layer cake. Used lemon pie filling for the layers and then frosted very lightly with lemon frosting. Turned out wonderful. If you like lemon, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My boyfriend kept asking me to make a lemon cake and I am not a very experienced baker so I thought this looked easy enough for me to not mess it up. I was right... it's easy and delicious! Super moist, full of lemon flavor and best of all... fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States