Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This cake is delicious! However it broke when I tried to take it out of the bundt pan. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to pour the glaze over top while it was still in the pan (that's what I did) but I wouldn't do that again. Also it's a very crumbly cake. I haven't gotten a solid piece out of it yet without it falling into crumbs. The first night we found it too lemony but about 24 hours later the taste was perfect. If I make this again I'll definitely have to play with the recipe a bit so that I'll have a firmer cake. Maybe less water? As it is, I would never serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
extremely moist and lemony! Will make this again and again. Everyone at Easter dinner loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Just the BEST!!! I made it once with the yellow cake and another time with the white cake. Its much better with the yellow. If you want more of a tart flavor, make your own lemon juice, and even tarter, juice the rind in an electric juicer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Great cake. I did some substitutions though. I used a supermoist yellow cake mix and added lemon zest. I also used real lemons for the 1/2 cup lemon juice. My company loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
When I put the glaze over the cake before removing it from the pan...it turned out to be a mess! However, removing that step on the second try, turned out relatively well. Good thing it was easy to make, and I had bought two of each ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This was really good lemon cake. I added fresh squeezed lemon juice in place of the water in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I substituded butter for oil, used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of water, and fresh squeezeed in the drizzle. It was so good and truly was better the next day. I took it to work and people loved it. Kathleen3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
My family loved this cake. It was so moist and delicious. I made a mistake when preparing it and put 1/2 cup of real fresh lemon juice in the cake batter. It turned out very good though, in fact I think it probably made the cake better. I used fresh lemons from my tree in my backyard. I would highly recommend this recipe to all my friends. Dee in Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I served this on Easter and no one liked it. I also used the ReaLemon lemon juice, perhaps that was the mistake! The cake was too moist because the icing was absorbed into the cake. It would have been much better to leave the last step off completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This cake was SOOO moist, and SOOO good!!! When making the icing, I made the mistake(?) of using ReaLemon bottled lemon juice, and when I mixed it with the powdered sugar, it didn't seem too homogenous. Anyway, I poured it on the lemon cake while the cake was still warm, and it sort of got absorbed by the cake, but this, I thought, made the cake taste even better! Next time, I'll do the same thing, but I'll also mix FRESH lemon juice with the powdered sugar, and pour it on the cake after it's cooled- then I'll have an icing!! This cake was soooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States