Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was a yummy cake! I used vanilla pudding (the 5oz one) bc i didn't have lemon pudding and it still came out "lemony", I loved it! I did pour the glaze over the hot cake and only had a little trouble when I inverted the cake, mostly bc it was too moist, but not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My cake was not moist at all; in fact, I found it to be drier than if I had just used the cake mix itself and followed directions for that. The glaze did nothing at all for the cake except made it sticky and WAY too sweet. I thought the glaze would make it moist, but it seemed to make it drier (sticky) where the glaze was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow!! Love this cake. 2 days later I am making another one because I took it to work and got a small slice of it and find myself wanting more. I let the cake completely cool after removing it from the bundt pan. Using a chopstick I poked holes in the cake before I applied the glaze. I made the glaze in the microwave for 3 min and stirred after each minute. I let it cool a bit before I poured it onto the cake. Sprinkled with powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gridster13
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Fabulous! So incredibly lemony and I'm still getting compliments days later! I coated the pan with sugar instead of flour and it slid right out of the bundt pan. I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Disaster! I followed the recipe to a T and it stuck to the pan and came out in pieces. I would remove the cake from the pan before pouring the glaze. Also the cake is way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this for my husband who loves anything lemon and it turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly. The only problem I had was the cake did stick on one side of the pan but I think it was because I have no patience and didn't let it cool enough. Very tasty and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This cake has been alot of places. At work, friend's homes, make for company, etc; I haven't found one person yet that doesn't like this recipe. So full of flavor and mosit; it is good the second day; if it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
the instructions and the picture don't match up. the picture shows a cake cooled and removed from the pan and then glazed with a glaze other than the one listed. - the instructions have you pouring the listed glaze onto the cake while still in the pan, right out of the oven. since i printed the recipe without the picture, i made as written. i let the cake cool completely in the pan then used a sharp knife to loosen the edges and carefully worked it out of the pan. it came out beautifully and tasted amazing - if you love lemon this is the cake for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Granted it is easy to make and very lemony but it still tastes like a cake mix so therefore has that "artificial" aftertaste. Have tried many similar cakes and they are all much too sweet for us....sorry. Still go back to a made from scratch lemon cake and many recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have found if I put a plate over the top of the bundt pan and turn it upside down quickly and then right side up again before pouring the glaze on the cake in the pan, it will release a lot easier when it has cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States