Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by YCANO
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving last year and everyone requested it again this year. I made 5 cakes for Thanksgiving this year!!! My only suggestions would be to double up on the ingredients when making cake to make a pretty fuller cake, I mix isn't enough. When you double up it comes out sooo much prettier! I also added vanilla to it. But aside from that the cake is perfect as is, try it! You will impress everyone, I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
YUM!! Using just once cake mix, the rounds weren't big enough to cut in half, so I just made it a two layer cake, and put more of the filling on top, and then drizzled the caramel syrup all over it. My hubby couldn't get enough of it, even though it's not part of his Weight Watcher's plan! I also made my own pumpkin pie spice, just used cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and ginger. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I screwed this recipe up in several places and it still turned out great! I ended up making the yellow cake mix according to the directions (high altitude) on the box and added an entire can of pumpkin to the batter. I baked it in a bundt pan, and it came out perfect. I made the frosting without the pumpkin since I had accidentally used it all in the cake mix - still tasted great. I only made two layers of frosting - one in the middle and one on the top. I poured carmel sauce over the frosting and then topped with chopped pecans. It looked and tasted fabulous! My guests were even taking pictures of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this cake for the fire fighters at my brother's station. There was not ONE crumb left they loved it so much. All of them said the best part was the frosting. This was a very easy cake to make and I will be making it again tomorrow for Thanksgiving. I did not change anything in the recipe. The only thing I might do different tomorrow is chop up the pecans and sprinkle them on each layer of frosting. The caramel wasn't needed either...it was sweet enough but fun to use for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this recipe for a girls night dinner and it was a HIT! It's very impressing since it's 4 layers and looks fancy- but it's very easy and supper yummy! If you like pumpkin- you MUST try! Next time I think i'll leave the pumpkin out of the filling so the cream cheese flavor is stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I wish I could rate this a 10, this was seriously one of the most amazing cakes I've ever had. My favorite cake otherwise is Carrot, and the texture and taste of the whip cream frosting reminded me of it. It was way good! I only changed one thing, I used 1/3 cup of apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil. (If I recall)....I love adding a lot of apple sauce to my cakes, it always makes it so good.The apple sauce just makes it so much than when using oil. I used Hershey's caramel and drizzled it not only over the top but added more to my own slice. After letting it soak over night in the cake, it had the most richest sweetest taste, it was really to die for. Wouldn't change anything else, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I did not have any pumpkin spice so in place of the 1 tsp pumpkin spice for the cake part of the recipe, I used 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/8 tsp ground cloves, and 1/4 tsp ginger. The cake turned out delicious! However, one of my two cakes stuck very badly to the pan and could not be salvaged. But I was more careful removing the other one and went ahead and made it by itself (so I had only a 2 layer cake instead of 4) and it actually turned out to be a better size for the occasion anyway. Instead of the cream cheese filling I made a pumpkin spice filling using 1 pkg pumpkin spice instant pudding, 1 cup milk, and 1 1/2 cups whipped cream. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Walton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Loved this cake. Doubled the recipe as suggested by some, way to much cake. Will only use one cake next time. Everyone loved this! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My hubbies all time fav!! I'm an accomplished baker and I made this on a whim!! He had no idea it was only semi- homemade, I kinda don't want to tell him how easy it was to make! Put flour on my face and whined about how much trouble I went to! Hope my secret is safe!! JK!! Definetly a keeper!! Added vanilla to filling mix (3/4) tsp. Much better..recipe is fine the way it is, just take care slicing cakes in half!! Take your time and use a serrated knife! No trouble at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vividwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
AMAZING!! This was a hit at Christmas. I made this cake because I love everything made with pumpkin except pumpkin pie (it's a texture thing.) This cake is wonderful and not "icky" sweet or heavy. I made the recipe exactly as written and don't think I'll change a thing the next time as it was just perfect. I learned a great trick for slicing the layers in half that works much better than using a serrated knife: I use a piece of dental floss and pull it gently through the cake. It cuts it perfectly and you don't risk getting the angle wrong on the knife and ending up with misshapen wedges. If it seems a bit difficult to start the floss through the outside of the cake, just start a small slit with a knife and then finish up with the floss -- perfectly sliced layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States