Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious! The only thing I do differently is add in more pumpkin. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Wonderful and tasty. Very moist. I accidentally added more pie spice, but still turned out great. It had great pumpkin flavor and was a nice alternative to pumpkin pie (which I am not a big fan of because of the texture). I will definitely be making this again. I've already had a request for it to be made for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love it!! I only had pumpkin pie in a can and I just drained it to get most of the liquid out. I didn't use cool whip, I used the powder whipped topping. I love the taste of pumpkin so I also used lots of pumpkin spice. . . .don't be shy with it! It smelled GREAT and tasted even better! I can't wait to make it again! I didn't top it with anything. I'll be honest it wasn't the prettiest cake, but with its taste, it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have made this cake every year since Kraft first published it. I can't even eat it anymore but I still make it because I know how delicious it is and how everyone raves over it. The trick to cutting 4 layers from 2 standard cake rounds is using thread and pulling it thru the layers gently but firmly. Cuts perfect layers every time. Also, using Spice cake mix instead of yellow a big plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emberashton
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made two 6" cakes and 4 cupcakes with this recipe. I filled the layers with the provided recipe and frosted it with cream cheese frosting. After cutting the layers to make them even, I had the tops of the cakes left over. To use them I cut them into small pieces and baked them again until they got dried out and crumbly. I put them in a small blender to make them crumbs. Once the cake was frosted I used the crumbs to coat the side of the cake as decoration. I had some whole walnuts as well and put those around the top edges as decoration. I wish I could upload a picture because it tured out really nice. With the cupcakes I had I filled them with the cream cheese/pumpkin filling, then piped cream cheese frosting on top and added a walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This cake is wonderful...I'd give it six stars if I could! Huge hit with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I added an extra step. I frosted cake with whip cream. I wanted it to be for a birthday cake for my coffee gang. It was gone by the end of the party. The guys all begged for a 2nd piece. I used home made caramel sauce as I find it simple to make a small amount as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. I followed the original recipe on the kraft website. The only difference is a 15oz. can of pumpkin and 8oz. tub of cool whip (I ended up using about 2 cups of cool whip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The cake was ok... it needed more of a pumpkin flavor. The filling also needed something as well. They were not terrible, but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yum! this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States