Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Excellent cake even though I really don't like using Cool Whip. Next time I will try it with sweetened whipped cream instead. Mine didn't look so great without the sides frosted, so I used more Cool Whip to frost the top and sides. It looked beautiful before and after cutting, in addition to the great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I loved this!! The only thing I did differently was cubed the cooked cake and layered it in a pretty dish. I'm terrible at getting the layers right & to stay in place-so it just made my job easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
AMAZING!! This was a hit at Christmas. I made this cake because I love everything made with pumpkin except pumpkin pie (it's a texture thing.) This cake is wonderful and not "icky" sweet or heavy. I made the recipe exactly as written and don't think I'll change a thing the next time as it was just perfect. I learned a great trick for slicing the layers in half that works much better than using a serrated knife: I use a piece of dental floss and pull it gently through the cake. It cuts it perfectly and you don't risk getting the angle wrong on the knife and ending up with misshapen wedges. If it seems a bit difficult to start the floss through the outside of the cake, just start a small slit with a knife and then finish up with the floss -- perfectly sliced layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was good but it did not disappear in my house. I was the only one who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Super Yummy! I have made this cake several times. I always get rave reviews and requests for the recipe, plus it is so easy to make! My only change is to add more pumpkin pie spice, as I like a little more spice. If you take a thin slice off the top of one of the cakes with a bread knife ( to create a flat surface) it makes it easier to stack. Overall, a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My whole extended family flipped over this at Thanksgiving! There were no leftovers and I was asked to make one for Christmas far in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was a very moist cake! I really like pumpkin, so I thought it was good, but I would probably decrease the pumpkin added to the cream cheese mixture! I did double the recipe like suggested by others and it just made too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My hubbies all time fav!! I'm an accomplished baker and I made this on a whim!! He had no idea it was only semi- homemade, I kinda don't want to tell him how easy it was to make! Put flour on my face and whined about how much trouble I went to! Hope my secret is safe!! JK!! Definetly a keeper!! Added vanilla to filling mix (3/4) tsp. Much better..recipe is fine the way it is, just take care slicing cakes in half!! Take your time and use a serrated knife! No trouble at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vividwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
this cake is terrific and very easy to make, it makes a wonderful presentation also. I brought it to a carry-in for thanksgiving and then had to send everyone the recipe. It was voted the best dessert at the party! Looks impressive, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Delicious, with a pumpkin spice flavor that's not over the top. My guests loved it, and asked for the recipe. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States