Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yum! this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is one of thee best cakes ever...it is a big hit no matter where you take it...everyone raves over it...wonderful autumn dessert... when I make it I don't change a thing except I use 8" cake pans, the layers not quite thick enough to split for 4 layers using the 9" pans... Tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda L. McClung Lamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
New family favorite!! I doubled the cake but not the icing and it was perfect!! Don't skip on the carmel it it a great finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this twice and LOVED it the second time!!! Here's what I did to make it a 5-star cake: add one heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and one heaping teaspoon of nutmeg and regular teaspoon of sugar..... all instead of pumpkin pie spice, which I think taste terrible (ginger and cloves have no business in any pumpkin dessert). Also, I added the same measurements of spices in the frosting (minus the sugar) and it also helped make this a 5-star cake!! A huge hit at Thanksgiving dinner... not a piece left. Oh, I drizzled the caramel sauce (yum) but omitted the nuts as many do no like them on cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very nice! The only change I made was to toss the pecans in a bit of the caramel sauce after toasting them and put them back into the oven for a few minutes to make a sort of no-effort candy coating for them. Also had the bonus of making the pecans sticky enough that they would stay wherever I placed them on top of the cake. That said, it dries out rather quickly, so probably best if you have enough people to finish it the night you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm sure this review won't be terribly useful, but it might make someone laugh. This cake turned out to be my first official cooking disaster. My cat got up on the stove and turned the dial to 500F while it was baking. I finally smelled it burning and probably just in time to prevent a fire! The cake was ruined, but I had already made the frosting in the background and it was delicious, so I used it on some store-bought pound cake. I will try this again soon as the batter smelled fantastic & it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was one of my most requested recipes from guests during the holidays. It has all the best of holiday desserts in one. Yum! Looks beautiful, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is the best cake I have ever made. Everyone loves it. I have received sooooo many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Loved this cake. Doubled the recipe as suggested by some, way to much cake. Will only use one cake next time. Everyone loved this! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and it always gets rave reviews! I have had several requests for it at gatherings and at work. It is one of my favorites as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States