Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this as a sugar free version and it was a hit at my party last night. I used Sugar Free yellow cake mix and sugar free cool whip! I did have to add some Splenda though to the icing cause it wasn't sweet enough. I also only did two layers and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Absolutely incredible! Made this for a get together with some neighbors and everyone swooned over it! Two weeks later, and I'm making another one so we can have it for Thanksgiving dinner. So wonderfully delicious! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I would chill the frosting a bit before adding it in between the layers. The weight of the cake smashed it down a little because the icing is fluffy before it's refridgerated. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah26
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Nothing but good reviews. I'm not much of a pumpkin fan myself, but my Sister has an October birthday so I made this a few years back for our family gathering and she has now requested it for the last 2 years. The creamy pumkin filling in between layers is what makes this cake luscious IMHO.... Very fun and easy to make. And I love pleasing the masses!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Made this cake my cake wanted to tip alittle but was a good flavored cake everyone enjoyed !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was a really good cake! I only used it for the cake recipe, not icing, but it was good! Had 3 eggs, so I had to beat them a lot, turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a delicious and easy cake. I've made it several times and it always gets compliments. People even ask me to make 'that pumpkin cake.' Messed up on the recipe once trying to make it from memory and added the entire can of pumpkin, it was still good and was like eating pumpkin pie in cake form. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valfaulkner79
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this cake for our family get together this Christmas and it turned out very good! I loved adding the pumpkin to the cake mix, it made the cake portion so moist! Everyone loved this and thought it looked very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valfaulkner79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This cake was RICH. Yummy, but SWEET. The cake itself is delicious and the frosting too, but in the future I would halve the frosting. Also, I'd recommend having an alternate dessert for those who are not pumpkin fans. The flavor isn't really pumpkin-y but enough to discourage a number.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this luscious cake twice already this year and it is fabulous! I followed the reciped as written and my family and guests loved it. I only used one cake mix, as others doubled, and one cake mix is definately enough. I also followed tips and used dental floss to slice through my layers. I started the cut with a knife and then ran dental floss through the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States