Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Ive made this at least 5 times over the last couple months for festive gatherings. It looks great as a cake but it is much less messy as cupcakes and the portions are smaller so more people can have some. The cupcakes still look pretty cute. Use a piping bag with out the piping tip to make the icing look neater sprinkle pecans and drizzle a little caramel on top. If you still want a layered effect cut the ccakes in half but not the paper and fill the centre with the icing too. Super cute and super yummy to cut fat and cals use light cream cheese and cool whip still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Awesome! I doubled the cake batter, because other reviews said the cakes were too thin to slice. I didn't really have to, though. When the cakes came out of the oven, I thought they'd be ok to slice. Regardless, this was the hit of (Canadian) Thanksgiving! I also iced the top of the cake, and then placed pecans on the outside edge of the cake. Beautiful presentation and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've made this cake twice and it was a hit both times!!! It's fun and very easy to make. Beats the traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MandyEngland
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
With Thanksgiving less than 2 weeks away, I decided to test this recipe out before making it for my guests. I followed the recipe to the "T" and it came out absolutely delicious. The caramel sauce I used (Hershey brand) was a little thin - so next time I'll be using a higher quality caramel sauce or making my own. Also, I'll probably add extra pecans to each layer of the cake, as everyone in my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyEngland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as instructed.....I was expecting it to have the flavor of a Pumpkin Roll type dessert.....my mistake. To me, the flavors were a bit bland, the cream cheese frosting was good and lite in texture, but I think I'd like it better with standard cream cheese frosting mixed with a little Pumpkin Pie Mix....no cool whip. It was easy to make and my guests all said they liked it, but I feel like they were being gracious. It was very pretty.....and when I brought it out..everyone ooooohhh'd and aaaawwww'd, but I don't think I serve it again without modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
First time making this cake instread of 4 layers I Made 2 cakes with one large middle filling in each. Added a tbl spoon of vanilla to frosting mix. My family swooned over it tonight at our Canadian thanksgiving. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this a few years ago with my cousin. It was very delicious and came out moist, with lots of sweet pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Vega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this back in 2004 when I found it in a magazine. I have made it a few times for Thanksgiving and it always turns our well. It is a simple cake to put together and looks pretty much like the main photo every time. I would suggest though (as this recipe is 9 years old) that you check the size of your cake mix. Most boxes are now downsized. What once was a little over 18 ounces is now down to 15 ounces. This may throw off the recipe balance when combined with the other ingredients. You need approximately 1/3 - 1/2 cup of additional cake mix to make up the the missing 3 ounces. You can buy a second box and freeze leftovers for another time should you make cake, using a mix, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Fantastic even with a gluten free box mix. Also substituted plain cream cheese for white chocolate phily cream cheese. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States