Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe, but I see that many who reviewed this recipe no little about "tempering" raw egg. Mix the eggs, sugar, and salt together first. Heat your milk until it comes to a simmer. Now take a little of the hot milk and add to the egg mixture, stirring constantly. Do this a little at a time until your egg mixture is warm and close to the temperture of your milk. Gradually add the egg mixture to the saucepan. This should avoid curdling or "scrambled eggs" in your nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Just made this again!! There's no way to get 10 servings out of 2 1/2cups of milk, you have to double the recipe..I first warm the milk then add it slowly to the YOLKS and sugar(I don't use the whites!!) and cook it in a water bath, there's no way to get "scrambled eggs" (it will take a little longer to cook). I always add some cinnamon along with the nutmeg, it's always great!!! **If you want eggnog that's not too thick ...like some people said... just use "light" cream, it's just as good!! "Happy Holidays!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was absolutely the best. We live in Russia and can't get eggnog here. This tasted just like eggnog from 'home'. I really like the fact that the eggs are cooked. This is best prepared the night before, by the next day, it is completely chilled and has an eggnog flavor rather than an eggy flavor. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Delicious!! There is no need to temper the eggs like some reviewers suggested - just heat them along with the other ingredients as stated in the recipe. The purpose of tempering is to introduce cold eggs into a hot mixture - you slowly put a bit of whatever hot mixture you are working with into the eggs to gently heat them up so they do not "scramble" when you put the into the hot mixture. However, in this recipe, you are beginning with all cold ingredients and heating them together - you are not introducing cold eggs into a hot mixture and therefore tempering is not needed. If your eggs are "scrambling" in the eggnog, you are heating your mixture up too quickly. Turn the heat down a bit and SLOWLY warm your mixture up. I made the recipe as-is (without the rum). Everyone loved the creamy texture, and I loved the fact that I wasn't serving raw eggs to my family. The eggnog was even better the next day! In fact, what little remained got even better as time went on. Next time, I will make a batch a couple of days before I want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I loved the consistency. Suggest whirling eggs, sugar, salt and milk in blender before cooking to avoid bits of cooked egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Pretty decent! Not too different from my Mother in Law's eggnog, which is to DIE for! A definite plus is the custard base since i'm pregnant and don't want to risk raw eggs, nor will I give raw eggs to my children. A much creamier, smoother egg nog than store bought, and worth the little time and effort spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
What a waste of time and money. I'm so glad I tasted this before serving it to anyone. I had one little glass and the rest went in the garbage. I chose this recipe because I liked that I didn't have to use raw eggs. But with every sip I got a mouthful of little cooked egg pieces. If I had a strainer I might have been able to strain them out but unfortunately I didn't have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Yummy! I wanted a great recipe that conained no raw eggs and this was it! A few cloves and a cinnamon stick to the sauce pan were all the changes I made. Oh, and I didn't have any rum or food coloring on hand. Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I love this receipe, I usually double or quadruple it. It is very very thick without alcohol or something to cut it. I make it without alcohol and add it depending on who is drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I'VE ALWAYS LOVED EEGNOG BUT THIS IS EVEN BETTER!!!!Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States