Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This has a really good taste, but it turned out really thick for me. I followed the advice of a review that said to simmer the milk first, and then slowly mix in the yolks. I only had a few "scrambled egg" clumps, but it was easy to pick those out. My husband and I ended up eating it with a spoon, as it was so thick. Maybe it's because I didn't add the rum?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
OMG!! This eggnog is AMAZING! I live in the UK and you can't get eggnog in any of the grocery stores, so I've had to make it, and I LOVE this recipe, and so does everybody that tries it. The first night I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, but it went so fast that I tripled the recipe the next day, people keep raving about it, definite keeper. It's so easy to make, thanks so much for an incredible recipe. A few changes that I made, I added some scotch whiskey, and cognac as well as the rum. I also used double cream in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe here is why I love allrecipes.com ~This is the absolute BEST eggnog recipe. I've made it for the past 2 years and everytime it's served I receive compliments and requests for seconds. Wonderful 'nog! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I wanted to teach my grandson how to temper eggs but I don't think he got the hang of it, quick enough. ;o) We scalded the milk, added the sugar & salt & allowed it to cool for a few minutes before tempering the eggs (SHER1950 gives great step-by step instructions in her review so I won't repeat them). I think we may have also overcooked it. :o( I'm going to make another batch for New Year's (w/out my grandson's help) & follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Absolutely fabulous recipe! I chose to omit the food coloring. Since the consistency was a little thicker than I was hoping for, I added a little more rum to thin the mixture. Wonderful! Next time I pan on pouring into our ice cream maker to make Luscious Eggnog Ice Cream. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Just made this again!! There's no way to get 10 servings out of 2 1/2cups of milk, you have to double the recipe..I first warm the milk then add it slowly to the YOLKS and sugar(I don't use the whites!!) and cook it in a water bath, there's no way to get "scrambled eggs" (it will take a little longer to cook). I always add some cinnamon along with the nutmeg, it's always great!!! **If you want eggnog that's not too thick ...like some people said... just use "light" cream, it's just as good!! "Happy Holidays!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Yummy! I wanted a great recipe that conained no raw eggs and this was it! A few cloves and a cinnamon stick to the sauce pan were all the changes I made. Oh, and I didn't have any rum or food coloring on hand. Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I gave this a low rating not on flavor but on texture. I don't care for the "foamy" taste of the whipped cream mixed into the custard base. I added whole cloves, a broken cinnamon stick and some bits of nutmeg to the custard while cooking, then strained them out for the cooling stage. Overall...OK...still looking for that creamy (not foamy) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Pretty decent! Not too different from my Mother in Law's eggnog, which is to DIE for! A definite plus is the custard base since i'm pregnant and don't want to risk raw eggs, nor will I give raw eggs to my children. A much creamier, smoother egg nog than store bought, and worth the little time and effort spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe, but I see that many who reviewed this recipe no little about "tempering" raw egg. Mix the eggs, sugar, and salt together first. Heat your milk until it comes to a simmer. Now take a little of the hot milk and add to the egg mixture, stirring constantly. Do this a little at a time until your egg mixture is warm and close to the temperture of your milk. Gradually add the egg mixture to the saucepan. This should avoid curdling or "scrambled eggs" in your nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States