Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This eggnog was not only easy but is so delicious! I love the fact that it is cooked because I am pregnant and have little ones. We will definitely be making more because it went so fast! The only changes I made were that I left out the rum, again because I am pregnant and serving children. I also left out the food coloring because I do not see the point. Thanks for wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The egg was so bad in it, I thought I sifted out all the scrambled part but I missed a bunch or it just turned chunky while it chilled. My husband also thought it was way to much rum (and he's in the Army and isn't afraid to knock back a few). If you venture to try this recipe, defiantly follow what the other reviewers said about cooking the egg but I think it would have been better raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This eggnog is delicious and easy to make. I noticed a lot of comments about the eggnog being lumpy. As I was making mine, I was very careful to avoid this by heating slowly. However, I did get lumps, but not because of needing to temper the eggs. As someone stated earlier, since the eggs & milk are both starting out cold, tempering is not necessary. The reason for the lumps is that there is a very small window of time from "coating the back of a metal spoon" to lumps. I literally watched the lumps form because I cooked it for seconds too long. But, not to worry. I let the eggnog cool and before adding in the whipped cream mixture I simply used an immersion blender on it and the lumps disappeared in moments. Someone else also suggested putting the nog in a blender or food processor, which I'm sure would work equally as well. As for the thickness, I doubled the egg/sugar/milk portion of the recipe, but only used the 10 serving portion of the cream/sugar mixture. It was not as thick, but made a wonderful consistency eggnog. I did not add the rum into the recipe as children were going to be enjoying the eggnog, but we adults added the rum into our servings. Everyone was happy and the eggnog was a big hit. I will continue to use this recipe, it's fabulous! Oops, I almost forgot, I threw a cinnamon stick & 1 tsp. of ground cloves into the egg/sugar/milk mixture and allowed it to all cook together, removing the cinnamon stick before blending out my lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryBeth Brilla Reta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. So light but still creamy. I just let everyone add their own rum to taste. Thanks so much for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Delicious!! There is no need to temper the eggs like some reviewers suggested - just heat them along with the other ingredients as stated in the recipe. The purpose of tempering is to introduce cold eggs into a hot mixture - you slowly put a bit of whatever hot mixture you are working with into the eggs to gently heat them up so they do not "scramble" when you put the into the hot mixture. However, in this recipe, you are beginning with all cold ingredients and heating them together - you are not introducing cold eggs into a hot mixture and therefore tempering is not needed. If your eggs are "scrambling" in the eggnog, you are heating your mixture up too quickly. Turn the heat down a bit and SLOWLY warm your mixture up. I made the recipe as-is (without the rum). Everyone loved the creamy texture, and I loved the fact that I wasn't serving raw eggs to my family. The eggnog was even better the next day! In fact, what little remained got even better as time went on. Next time, I will make a batch a couple of days before I want to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
We loved this! I made it again for a party, and just added more rum... you couldn't even tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Divine. My husband and I weren't sure how this would turn out, considering neither of us has made eggnog from scratch before. No lumps of eggs. We doubled the recipe and are really excited to take this to a family gathering tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmw384
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is delish! I made 2 batches. The first batch I made to the recipe. The 2nd...well didnt turn out as well. I used a mixer to mix it, and it made it chunky, after straining it it turned out fine. Word to the wise just follow the recipe and you will never pay retail for eggnog again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This truly is luscious eggnog! The best way I can describe it is to say that it is like a light and fluffy liquid pudding. It's thick, but not heavy. It's amazing and the best eggnog I've ever had!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it worked out great. I was only concerned when I tried folding in the whipped cream. The whipped cream just floated in the custard and did not want to fold in, so I whisked it in lightly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
turned out great! I stirred it the whole time it cooked and there were no lumps. It was perfect. If you dont stir it the whole time it cooks, then you will have lumpy eggy custard. Just follow directions. I used a ball whisk, which is almost my favorite cooking utensil in my kitchen. Also I times it by 8....yes 8X so it took 45 minutes of stirring and cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States