Luscious Date Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I lowered the batter down for 6 people, because I had only one egg, but when I made the dough, it was to little for the pan. I doubled everything (exept for the egg) and made cookies instead. They were delisious! Since there are 5 people in my family, I give it 10 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDUSA3139

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe! Make sure to cut the bars while warm it's so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
A good recipe if you don't want any added fat. It's quite sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Tried and everyone loved it at home. Substituted raisins, cashews instead of pecan and added less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a great recipe. Regarding the low review: because there is no oil or butter in the recipe, the moisture content of the dates is very important in how "luscious" this cake is. I get a tub of dates at Costco and I dig out the stickiest, most moist dates in the tub and use for this recipe. This is especially important for the drier 'Deglet Noor' variety of dates. If you can get your hands on *very fresh* 'Medjool' dates, the recipe is phenomenal. In summary, don't use dried up dates because most of the moisture in this cakes derived from the dates and if the dates aren't moist then the cake will be dry. If this were truly a bad recipe, it wouldn't be rated so high. This is a case where the quality of ingredients counts. I have made this a few times and I am comfortable changing it up a little depending on what I have on hand. It's great as-is, but I like it with a handful of Guittard milk chocolate chips and/or a handful of Baker's coconut, too! People who have never eaten dates before rave when they try this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palakpaneer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was easy and came out terrific. The only problem I had was whether to add whipped cream or ice cream to it; the whipping cream won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
A simple recipe that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Made it and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I served this topped with some Greek yogurt - the 'tang' of the yogurt offset the 'too sweet' of the cake. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I hate to give negative reviews but I found this cake to be dry and tasteless. I was sorely disappointed because the word "luscious" in and of itself calls to mind other words such as moist, creamy, rich, etc. This was none of those. I was able to salvage the recipe by frosting them with a browned butter icing, but as-is they are dry little bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States