Luscious Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I love truffles and these were nice but not as "truffle-like" as I would have liked them to be. I did not make a lot of these. I actually made these to use up some homemade condensed milk and like other reviewers added a touch of my favourite liqueur to the mixture. These rolled up really easily and I rolled them into chocolate sprinkles. I decided to have one after an hour or so of rolling them and I have to say they are good but not what I expected exactly. The middle came out more like a soft caramel which admittedly tasted very nice. Nice and smooth and not too sweet (but then the recipe I used for the homemade condensed milk isn't as sweet as the store-bought kind) These were good, but it won't be my first go to recipe when I want truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
So simple but delicious! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
So delicious, and took me about 5 minutes to make! (without the whole 3 hours in the fridge part) incredibly simple to make, and delicious! I wanted to eat it straight out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These taste great! I followed the recipe exactly, but I did divide it up into smaller bowls as suggested by others.It was a bit difficult to roll them into the balls, and I think using a melon baller would probably be best for this. I used colored sugar sprinkles, which didn't really come out too great. However, the colored sprinkles worked out great and they tasted like the candy Nonpareils. I love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
"Luscious"? If you're looking for a truffle that tastes as sumptuous as the ones you buy in a fancy confectioner's, you're going to be disappointed mightily. This tastes like, well...sweetened condensed milk combined with melted chocolate chips, mega watt, tastebud-numbing sweet. Not at all what I have come to expect a truffle to taste like. Truffles should be a celebration of perfect chocolate flavor, one that melts lovingly and lingers on the tongue. Sure, these are easy. But easy is only good if the results are something you're proud to serve. Sorry to have to say I found this recipe to be disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My 12 year old daughter and I made a batch of these and I brought them to the office Christmas party. Super easy and a huge hit. We used peppermint extract instead of vanilla. I'm going to make tons of these all Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
yummy and really chocolatey! they are very easy to make and roll in coatings too! we gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
this recipe was amazing! although i did make some changes...instead of using sweetened condensed milk, i used the regular unsweetened stuff...and may i recommend dark chocolate rather than milk chocolate, but thats just a personal preference....also, the vanilla really doesnt make much of a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEA713

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Easy recipe and tasty too! After I rolled them I dipped them in melted chocolate. Half in white chocolate and the other in dark. Then I sprinkled crushed oreo cookies over the top. They were beautiful and divine! They looked like I spent a fortune at the candy store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
WOW! I have made these numerous times for potlucks and parties and such. I usually eat most of them before they leave the kitchen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States